Dorothy Gilman
Dorothy Gilman (1923-2012) was an American author of spy fiction and mystery novels. Her main protagonist was Mrs. Pollifax, a senior citizen spy. Dorothy was named a Grand Master by the Mystery Writers of America. She passed away in 2012 due to a case of Alzheimer’s, a decade after her last novel was published.

Dorothy Gilman began her career in 1949 with the novel Enchanted Caravan. Her final book was Kaleidoscope, published in 2002. Below is a list of Dorothy Gilman’s books in order of when they were first released:

Publication Order of Mrs. Pollifax Books

The Unexpected Mrs. Pollifax (1966)Description / Buy at
The Amazing Mrs. Pollifax (1970)Description / Buy at
The Elusive Mrs. Pollifax (1971)Description / Buy at
A Palm for Mrs. Pollifax (1973)Description / Buy at
Mrs. Pollifax on Safari (1976)Description / Buy at
Mrs. Pollifax on the China Station (1983)Description / Buy at
Mrs. Pollifax and the Hong Kong Buddha (1985)Description / Buy at
Mrs. Pollifax and the Golden Triangle (1988)Description / Buy at
Mrs. Pollifax and the Whirling Dervish (1990)Description / Buy at
Mrs. Pollifax and the Second Thief (1993)Description / Buy at
Mrs. Pollifax Pursued (1995)Description / Buy at
Mrs. Pollifax and the Lion Killer (1996)Description / Buy at
Mrs. Pollifax, Innocent Tourist (1997)Description / Buy at
Mrs. Pollifax Unveiled (2000)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Madame Karitska Books

The Clairvoyant Countess (1975)Description / Buy at
Kaleidoscope (2002)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Enchanted Caravan (1949)Description / Buy at
Carnival Gypsy (1950)Description / Buy at
Ragamuffin Alley (1951)Description / Buy at
The Calico Year (1953)Description / Buy at
Four-Party Line (1954)Description / Buy at
Papa dolphin's table (1955)Description / Buy at
Girl in Buckskin (1956)Description / Buy at
Witch's Silver (1959)Description / Buy at
Masquerade (1961)Description / Buy at
Ten Leagues to Boston Town (1962)Description / Buy at
Bells of Freedom (1963)Description / Buy at
Uncertain Voyage (1967)Description / Buy at
A Nun in the Closet (1975)Description / Buy at
The Tightrope Walker (1979)Description / Buy at
The Maze in the Heart of the Castle (1983)Description / Buy at
Incident at Badamyâ (1989)Description / Buy at
Caravan (1992)Description / Buy at
Thale's Folly (1999)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

A New Kind of Country (1978)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Alfred Hitchcock's Fatal Attractions(1983)Description / Buy at

Notes: The Unexpected Mrs. Pollifax was also published under the title Mrs. Pollifax, Spy. Masquerade was re-published as Heart’s Design. Many of her standalone novels were published using her married name of Dorothy Gilman Butters.

If You Like Dorothy Gilman Books, You’ll Love…

Dorothy Gilman Synopses: In The Clairvoyant Countess by Dorothy Gilman, Madame Karitska is a public psychic who has a chance encounter with Detective-Lieutenant Pruden and must now use her powers to protect herself.

After over 25 years, Madame Karitska returns in the novel Kaleidoscope. After a violinist is killed in an accident, the clairvoyant Madame Karitska must use the violin to discover the truth. When a wife asks her if her husband will end up leaving her for a cult, Karitska decides to hold some of what she sees from the woman.

In Thale’s Folly, Andrew Thale is an NYC author who is tasked with visiting an old property that has been in the family for years, and has been forgotten about since Aunt Harriet’s passing. However, the house is not empty and is home to a group of strange people…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Dorothy Gilman Books

Leave a Reply