Mrs Pollifax by Dorothy Gilman
Mrs. Pollifax is a series of spy fiction/mystery novels by American novelist Dorothy Gilman. Mrs. Emily Pollifax is a grandmother in her 60s who not only belongs to a garden club, but also works for the CIA on a part-time basis. The series was adapted into the comedy film Mrs. Pollifax-Spy in 1971, starring Rosalind Russell as the title character.

Dorothy Gilman debuted her Mrs. Pollifax character in 1966 in The Unexpected Mrs. Pollifax. The series lasted 14 novels and concluded with the 2000 book Mrs. Pollifax Unveiled. Below is a list of Dorothy Gilman’s Mrs. Pollifax novels in order of when they were originally released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Publication Order of Mrs. Pollifax Books

The Unexpected Mrs. Pollifax(1966)Description / Buy at
The Amazing Mrs. Pollifax(1970)Description / Buy at
The Elusive Mrs. Pollifax(1971)Description / Buy at
A Palm for Mrs. Pollifax(1973)Description / Buy at
Mrs. Pollifax on Safari(1976)Description / Buy at
Mrs. Pollifax on the China Station(1983)Description / Buy at
Mrs. Pollifax and the Hong Kong Buddha(1985)Description / Buy at
Mrs. Pollifax and the Golden Triangle(1988)Description / Buy at
Mrs. Pollifax and the Whirling Dervish(1990)Description / Buy at
Mrs. Pollifax and the Second Thief(1993)Description / Buy at
Mrs. Pollifax Pursued(1995)Description / Buy at
Mrs. Pollifax and the Lion Killer(1996)Description / Buy at
Mrs. Pollifax, Innocent Tourist(1997)Description / Buy at
Mrs. Pollifax Unveiled(2000)Description / Buy at

Note: The Unexpected Mrs. Pollifax is also known as Mrs. Pollifax, Spy.

Mrs. Pollifax Synopses: The Unexpected Mrs. Pollifax is the first novel in Dorothy Gilman’s Mrs. Pollifax series. Emily Pollifax is a widow from New Jersey. Her children have grown up and are on their own. She has been getting bored of garden club meetings. What is there left for her to do? Well, join the CIA, of course. She ends up taking a trip to Mexico City, where she gets into trouble. Unfortunately for her enemies, they don’t have any idea just who they are dealing with!

The Amazing Mrs. Pollifax is the second book in Dorothy Gilman’s series. When Mrs. Pollifax answers a call, she immediately puts her Sunday morning garden club plans aside in order to go off on a mission half-way across the world.

If You Like Mrs. Pollifax Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Mrs. Pollifax Books

Leave a Reply