Elizabeth Acevedo is an American author best known as the author of The Poet X which won the National Book Award for Young People’s Literature, the Michael L. Printz Award, the Pura Belpré Award, the Boston Globe–Horn Book Award, and the Walter Award. In addition to her work as an author, she is also a National Poetry Slam champion.

Acevedo holds her MFA in creative writing which she received from the University of Maryland. She is currently located in Washington, DC where she lives and writes.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Poet X (2018)Best Hardcover PriceBest Paperback PriceBest Kindle Price
With the Fire on High (2019)Best Hardcover PriceBest Paperback PriceBest Kindle Price
Clap When You Land (2020)Best Hardcover PriceBest Paperback PriceBest Kindle Price

Publication Order of Anthologies

A Phoenix First Must Burn(2020)Best Hardcover PriceBest Paperback PriceBest Kindle Price
Woke: A Young Poet's Call to Justice(2020)Best Hardcover PriceBest Paperback PriceBest Kindle Price

If You Like Elizabeth Acevedo Books, You’ll Love…

The Poet X follows Xiomara Batista who is living in the Harlem neighborhood of New York City. She has recently grown into a woman and ever since then she has had to let her fists do the talking. Despite this, she feels like she has a lot that she wants to say and decides to pour all of her thoughts and frustrations into a notebook. Her mother is domineering and wants her daughter to obey the laws of the church. She continues to work on her poems and writes about the feeling she has for a boy in class that she can’t tell her family about. She’s invited to join the school’s slam poetry club, but she doesn’t know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out. It’s something she should probably let go, but she can’t let it go as she can’t be silent any longer.

Acevedo is also the author of With the Fire on High. This book sees seventeen-year-old Emoni’s life undergoing major changes when she becomes pregnant. She is trying hard to do what’s right and tries to keep her head down at school. She’s very focused and the only place she finds that she can really let go is in the kitchen where she does great things with food. She wants to be a chef more than anything despite the difficulties of that reality, but it’s the one thing that feeds her soul and she has a drive to succeed in it.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Elizabeth Acevedo Books

Leave a Reply