Elizabeth Daly was an American author best known for writing the Henry Gamadge series of books. The series began in 1940 with the release of Unexpected Night. She would published 16 books in the series in her career.

Daly was born in 1878 in New York City. Her father was a Supreme Court justice in New York. She would attend Bryn Mawr College where she would earn her Bachelor of Arts. Elizabeth then went to Columbia University for her Masters. Earlier in her career, Daly wrote light verse and prose for magazines, including Life, Puck, and Scribner’s. In addition to her work as a writer, Daly also worked as a reader at Bryn Mawr College and also tutored students in French and English.

Publication Order of Henry Gamadge Mysteries Books

Unexpected Night (1940)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Deadly Nightshade (1940)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Murders in Volume 2 (1941)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The House Without the Door (1942)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Evidence of Things Seen (1943)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Nothing Can Rescue Me (1943)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Arrow Pointing Nowhere (1944)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Book of the Dead (1944)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Any Shape or Form (1945)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Somewhere in the House (1946)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Wrong Way Down (1946)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Night Walk (1947)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Book of the Lion (1948)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
And Dangerous to Know (1949)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Death and Letters (1950)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Book of the Crime (1951)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Elizabeth Daly Books, You’ll Love…

The Henry Gamadge series begins with Unexpected Night. Gamadge is a gentleman sleuth, but right now he is on vacation in coastal Maine. His relaxation doesn’t last long though as there is a strange case that the police need his help with. The case involves a fall from a cliff, a large inheritance, and a group of actors that are dying off. There is something off and not right here, and Gamadge is just the man to help the local police solve the case.

Another good book in the Henry Gamadge series is Death and Letters. This book finds Henry Gamadge summoned to a secluded estate via a crossword puzzle. He’s called that way because it is the only way that a widow can communicate as she is being held captive by her relatives. They are all claiming that the woman has lost her mind, but she believes it is because they are worried about her after her husband’s suspicious suicide. The family is set on avoiding scandal and it’ll be up to Gamadge to sort them out.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Elizabeth Daly Books

Leave a Reply