Patricia Wentworth
Patricia Wentworth is the pen name of Dora Amy Elles (1878-1961), a British author of crime fiction. She is best known for her Miss Silver character. She attended Blackheath High School in London and was also educated privately. She married twice and had one daughter.

Patricia Wentworth became a published author in 1910 with the novel A Marriage Under The Terror, which won the Melrose award. Her final novel was the Miss Silver novel The Girl in the Cellar, which was published in 1961 (the same year she died). Below is a list of Patricia Wentworth’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Publication Order of Miss Silver Books

Grey Mask (1928)Description / Buy at
The Case is Closed (1937)Description / Buy at
Lonesome Road (1939)Description / Buy at
Danger Point / In the Balance (1941)Description / Buy at
The Chinese Shawl (1943)Description / Buy at
Miss Silver Deals with Death / Miss Silver Intervenes (1943)Description / Buy at
The Clock Strikes Twelve (1944)Description / Buy at
The Key (1944)Description / Buy at
She Came Back / The Traveller Returns (1945)Description / Buy at
Pilgrim's Rest / Dark Threat (1946)Description / Buy at
Latter End (1947)Description / Buy at
Wicked Uncle / Spotlight (1947)Description / Buy at
The Case of William Smith (1948)Description / Buy at
Eternity Ring (1948)Description / Buy at
The Catherine Wheel (1949)Description / Buy at
Miss Silver Comes to Stay (1949)Description / Buy at
The Bradling Collection / Mr Bradling's Collection (1950)Description / Buy at
The Ivory Dagger (1950)Description / Buy at
Through The Wall (1950)Description / Buy at
'Anna, Where Are You?' / Death at Deep End (1951)Description / Buy at
The Watersplash (1951)Description / Buy at
Ladies' Bane (1952)Description / Buy at
Out of the Past (1953)Description / Buy at
The Silent Pool (1953)Description / Buy at
The Vanishing Point (1953)Description / Buy at
The Benevent Treasure (1954)Description / Buy at
The Gazebo / The Summerhouse (1955)Description / Buy at
The Listening Eye (1955)Description / Buy at
Poison in the Pen (1955)Description / Buy at
The Fingerprint (1956)Description / Buy at
The Alington Inheritance (1958)Description / Buy at
The Girl in the Cellar (1961)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Benbow Smith Books

Publication Order of Ernest Lamb Books

The Blind Side (1939)Description / Buy at
Who Pays the Piper? (1940)Description / Buy at
Pursuit of a Parcel (1942)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Frank Garrett Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

A Marriage Under the Terror (1910)Description / Buy at
The Fire Within (1913)Description / Buy at
Queen Anne is Dead (1915)Description / Buy at
The Astonishing Adventure of Jane Smith (1923)Description / Buy at
The Annam Jewel (1924)Description / Buy at
The Red Lacquer Case (1924)Description / Buy at
The Black Cabinet (1925)Description / Buy at
The Dower House Mystery (1925)Description / Buy at
The Amazing Chance (1926)Description / Buy at
Hue and Cry (1927)Description / Buy at
Anne Belinda (1927)Description / Buy at
Will o' the Wisp (1928)Description / Buy at
Kingdom Lost (1930)Description / Buy at
The Coldstone (1930)Description / Buy at
Beggar's Choice (1930)Description / Buy at
Red Shadow / Red Danger (1932)Description / Buy at
Nothing Venture (1932)Description / Buy at
Outrageous Fortune / Seven Green Stones (1933)Description / Buy at
Touch and Go / Devil in the Dark (1934)Description / Buy at
Fear by Night (1934)Description / Buy at
Red Stefan (1935)Description / Buy at
Blindfold (1935)Description / Buy at
Hole and Corner (1936)Description / Buy at
Run! (1938)Description / Buy at
Mr. Zero (1938)Description / Buy at
Unlawful Occasions / Weekend with Death (1941)Description / Buy at
Silence in Court (1945)Description / Buy at
The Devil's Wind (2009)Description / Buy at

Notes: Danger Point was later re-published as In the Balance. Miss Silver Intervenes was also known as Miss Silver Deals with Death. She Came Back is also known as The Traveller Returns. Pilgrim’s Rest was also titled Dark Threat. Spotlight was also published as Wicked Uncle. The Brading Collection is also known as Mr. Brading’s Collection. Anna Where Are You? is also known as Death at Deep End. The Gazebo was also published as The Summerhouse.

Red Danger is also known as Red Shadow. Seven Green Stones is also known as Outrageous Fortune. Devil in the Dark was also published as Touch and Go. Unlawful Occasions was also titled Weekend with Death.

If You Like Patricia Wentworth Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Patricia Wentworth Books

Leave a Reply