Miss Silver by Patricia Wentworth
Miss Silver is the protagonist in a series of crime fiction novels by British author Patricia Wentworth. Miss Maud Silver is a retired governess who starts working as a private detective, working closely with Scotland Yard.

Patricia Wentworth began her Miss Silver series in 1928 with the novel Grey Mask. She wouldn’t follow up in the series for another 9 years until The Case is Closed. There were a total of 32 novels in the series, ending with 1961’s The Girl in the Cellar. Below is a list of Patricia Wentworth’s Miss Silver books in order of when they were originally released (which is also their chronological order):

Publication Order of Miss Silver Books

Grey Mask(1928)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Case is Closed(1937)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Lonesome Road(1939)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Danger Point / In the Balance(1941)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Chinese Shawl(1943)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Miss Silver Deals with Death / Miss Silver Intervenes(1943)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Clock Strikes Twelve(1944)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Key(1944)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
She Came Back / The Traveller Returns(1945)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Pilgrim's Rest / Dark Threat(1946)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Latter End(1947)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Wicked Uncle / Spotlight(1947)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Case of William Smith(1948)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Eternity Ring(1948)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Catherine Wheel(1949)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Miss Silver Comes to Stay(1949)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Bradling Collection / Mr Bradling's Collection(1950)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Ivory Dagger(1950)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Through The Wall(1950)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
'Anna, Where Are You?' / Death at Deep End(1951)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Watersplash(1951)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Ladies' Bane(1952)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Out of the Past(1953)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Silent Pool(1953)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Vanishing Point(1953)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Benevent Treasure(1954)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Gazebo / The Summerhouse(1955)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Listening Eye(1955)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Poison in the Pen(1955)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Fingerprint(1956)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Alington Inheritance(1958)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Girl in the Cellar(1961)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Notes: Danger Point was later re-published as In the Balance. Miss Silver Intervenes was also known as Miss Silver Deals with Death. She Came Back is also known as The Traveller Returns. Pilgrim’s Rest was also titled Dark Threat. Spotlight was also published as Wicked Uncle. The Brading Collection is also known as Mr. Brading’s Collection. Anna Where Are You? is also known as Death at Deep End. The Gazebo was also published as The Summerhouse.

If You Like Miss Silver Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: Amazon.com | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.ca

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Miss Silver Books

Leave a Reply