Ngaio Marsh (1895-1982) was a New Zealand author of detective fiction, best known for her Roderick Alleyn series. She is often spoken of in the same breath as the other Queens of Crime, Agatha Christie, Dorothy L. Sayers and Margery Allingham. In addition to being a novelist, Marsh was also a theatre director and toured with her student players putting on Shakespearean productions.

Ngaio Marsh became a published author in 1934 with the novel A Man Lay Dead. Her final novel was Light Thickens, published in 1982 (the year of her death). Below is a list of Ngaio Marsh’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Publication Order of Roderick Alleyn Books

A Man Lay Dead (1934)Description / Buy at
Enter a Murderer (1935)Description / Buy at
The Nursing Home Murder (1935)Description / Buy at
Death in Ecstasy (1936)Description / Buy at
Vintage Murder (1937)Description / Buy at
Artists in Crime (1938)Description / Buy at
Death in a White Tie (1938)Description / Buy at
Overture to Death (1939)Description / Buy at
Death at the Bar (1940)Description / Buy at
Death of a Peer / Surfeit of Lampreys (1940)Description / Buy at
Death and the Dancing Footman (1941)Description / Buy at
Colour Scheme (1943)Description / Buy at
Died in the Wool (1945)Description / Buy at
Final Curtain (1947)Description / Buy at
A Wreath for Rivera / Swing, Brother, Swing (1949)Description / Buy at
Night at the Vulcan / Opening Night (1951)Description / Buy at
Spinsters In Jeopardy / The Bride of Death (1953)Description / Buy at
Scales of Justice (1955)Description / Buy at
Death of a Fool / Off With His Head (1956)Description / Buy at
Singing in the Shrouds (1958)Description / Buy at
False Scent (1959)Description / Buy at
Hand in Glove (1962)Description / Buy at
Dead Water (1963)Description / Buy at
Killer Dolphin / Death at the Dolphin (1966)Description / Buy at
Clutch of Constables (1968)Description / Buy at
When in Rome (1970)Description / Buy at
Tied Up in Tinsel (1971)Description / Buy at
Black As He's Painted (1973)Description / Buy at
Last Ditch (1976)Description / Buy at
A Grave Mistake (1978)Description / Buy at
Photo Finish (1980)Description / Buy at
Light Thickens (1982)Description / Buy at
Alleyn and Others / The Collected Short Fiction of Ngaio Marsh (1989)Description / Buy at
Still Unsolved (1990)Description / Buy at
Money in the Morgue (With: Stella Duffy) (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Alleyn and Others / The Collected Short Fiction of Ngaio Marsh (1989)Description / Buy at
Death on the Air and Other Stories (1995)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Black Beech and Honeydew (1965)Description / Buy at
New Zealand (1989)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Verdict of Thirteen(1979)Description / Buy at
Chapter and Hearse(1985)Description / Buy at
English Country House Murders(1988)Description / Buy at
Fifty Best Mysteries(1993)Description / Buy at
Murder Takes a Holiday: Classic Crime Stories for Summer(2021)Description / Buy at
Bodies from the Library 4(2022)Description / Buy at

Notes: Death of a Peer was also published as Surfeit of Lampreys. A Wreath for Rivera was also titled Swing, Brother, Swing. Night at the Vulcan is also known as Opening Night. Spinsters in Jeopardy is also known as The Bride of Death. Death of a Fool is alternatively titled Off With His Head. Killer Dolphin was also published under the title Death at the Dolphin. New Zealand was co-authored by R.M. Burdon.

If You Like Ngaio Marsh Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Ngaio Marsh Books

Leave a Reply