Inspector Roderick Alleyn is the protagonist in a series of detective fiction novels by New Zealand author Ngaio Marsh. Alleyn is a gentleman detective and very much part of the Golden Age of Detective Fiction. Alleyn begins the series as a 40 year-old detective chief-inspector at Scotland Yard.

Ngaio Marsh debuted her Roderick Alleyn character with her own debut novel, A Man Lay Dead, in 1934. The series lasted 32 novels until 1982’s Light Thickens, at which point the author passed away. Below is a list of Ngaio Marsh’s Roderick Alleyn books in order of when they were originally published (which is also their chronological order):

Publication Order of Roderick Alleyn Books

A Man Lay Dead(1934)Description / Buy at
Enter a Murderer(1935)Description / Buy at
The Nursing Home Murder(1935)Description / Buy at
Death in Ecstasy(1936)Description / Buy at
Vintage Murder(1937)Description / Buy at
Artists in Crime(1938)Description / Buy at
Death in a White Tie(1938)Description / Buy at
Overture to Death(1939)Description / Buy at
Death at the Bar(1940)Description / Buy at
Death of a Peer / Surfeit of Lampreys(1940)Description / Buy at
Death and the Dancing Footman(1941)Description / Buy at
Colour Scheme(1943)Description / Buy at
Died in the Wool(1945)Description / Buy at
Final Curtain(1947)Description / Buy at
A Wreath for Rivera / Swing, Brother, Swing(1949)Description / Buy at
Night at the Vulcan / Opening Night(1951)Description / Buy at
Spinsters In Jeopardy / The Bride of Death(1953)Description / Buy at
Scales of Justice(1955)Description / Buy at
Death of a Fool / Off With His Head(1956)Description / Buy at
Singing in the Shrouds(1958)Description / Buy at
False Scent(1959)Description / Buy at
Hand in Glove(1962)Description / Buy at
Dead Water(1963)Description / Buy at
Killer Dolphin / Death at the Dolphin(1966)Description / Buy at
Clutch of Constables(1968)Description / Buy at
When in Rome(1970)Description / Buy at
Tied Up in Tinsel(1971)Description / Buy at
Black As He's Painted(1973)Description / Buy at
Last Ditch(1976)Description / Buy at
A Grave Mistake(1978)Description / Buy at
Photo Finish(1980)Description / Buy at
Light Thickens(1982)Description / Buy at
Alleyn and Others / The Collected Short Fiction of Ngaio Marsh(1989)Description / Buy at
Still Unsolved(1990)Description / Buy at
Money in the Morgue(2018)Description / Buy at

Notes: Death of a Peer was also published as Surfeit of Lampreys. A Wreath for Rivera was also titled Swing, Brother, Swing. Night at the Vulcan is also known as Opening Night. Spinsters in Jeopardy is also known as The Bride of Death. Death of a Fool is alternatively titled Off With His Head. Killer Dolphin was also published under the title Death at the Dolphin.

If You Like Inspector Roderick Alleyn Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Roderick Alleyn Books

Leave a Reply