Lord Peter Wimsey is a fictional character created by British novelist Dorothy L. Sayers, featured in a series of detective novels. Wimsey is an amateur sleuth who solves mysteries that usually involve murders. The character’s hobbies include playing the piano, fashion and collecting cars.

The Lord Peter Wimsey character debuted in 1923 with Whose Body?. Below is a list of Dorothy L. Sayers’ Peter Wimsey novels and short story collections in order of publication and in chronological order:

Publication Order of Lord Peter Wimsey Books

Whose Body?(1923)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Clouds of Witness(1926)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Unnatural Death(1927)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Lord Peter Views the Body(1928)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Unpleasantness at the Bellona Club(1928)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Strong Poison(1930)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Five Red Herrings(1931)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Have His Carcase(1932)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Hangman's Holiday(1933)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Murder Must Advertise(1933)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Nine Tailors(1934)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Gaudy Night(1935)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Busman's Honeymoon(1937)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
In the Teeth of the Evidence(1939)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Striding Folly(1973)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Lord Peter Wimsey & Harriet Vane Books

(By: Dorothy L Sayers, Jill Paton Walsh)

Thrones, Dominations(1998)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Presumption of Death(2002)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Attenbury Emeralds(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Late Scholar(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Notes: The Peter Wimsey and Harriet Vane series is co-authored by Jill Patton Walsh.

If You Like Lord Peter Wimsey Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Peter Wimsey Books

Leave a Reply