Dorothy L. Sayers (1893-1957) was an English author of crime fiction novels, poetry, plays, essays, translations and Christian humanism. Sayers is considered part of the Golden Age of Detective Fiction. She is best known for her mystery novels featuring Peter Wimsey, an amateur sleuth. Sayers has influenced many different major authors, including Stieg Larsson and Diana Gabaldon.

Dorothy L. Sayers made her debut as a novelist in 1923 with Whose Body?, the beginning of her Peter Wimsey detective series. Below is a list of Dorothy L. Sayers’ books in order of when they were originally released:

Publication Order of Lord Peter Wimsey Books

Whose Body? (1923)Description / Buy at
Clouds of Witness (1926)Description / Buy at
Unnatural Death (1927)Description / Buy at
Lord Peter Views the Body (1928)Description / Buy at
The Unpleasantness at the Bellona Club (1928)Description / Buy at
Strong Poison (1930)Description / Buy at
Five Red Herrings (1931)Description / Buy at
Have His Carcase (1932)Description / Buy at
Hangman's Holiday (1933)Description / Buy at
Murder Must Advertise (1933)Description / Buy at
The Nine Tailors (1934)Description / Buy at
Gaudy Night (1935)Description / Buy at
Busman's Honeymoon (1937)Description / Buy at
In the Teeth of the Evidence (1939)Description / Buy at
Striding Folly (1973)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Lord Peter Wimsey & Harriet Vane Books

(with Jill Paton Walsh)

Thrones, Dominations (1998)Description / Buy at
A Presumption of Death (2002)Description / Buy at
The Attenbury Emeralds (2010)Description / Buy at
The Late Scholar (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Documents In The Case (1930)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Wimsey Papers (1939)Description / Buy at
The Lost Tools of Learning (1947)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

A Treasury of Sayers Stories (1958)Description / Buy at
Two Plays about God and Man (1985)Description / Buy at
Dorothy L. Sayers: The Complete Stories (2002)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Chapbooks

The Emperor Constantine (1951)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Plays

The Man Born to Be King (1943)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Mind of the Maker (1941)Description / Buy at
Unpopular Opinions (1946)Description / Buy at
Creed or Chaos? (1947)Description / Buy at
Further Papers on Dante (With: Barbara Reynolds) (1957)Description / Buy at
Are Women Human? (1959)Description / Buy at
The Days of Christ's Coming (1960)Description / Buy at
Wilkie Collins a Critical and Biographical Study (1977)Description / Buy at
The Whimsical Christian (1987)Description / Buy at
Spiritual Writings (1993)Description / Buy at
The Letters of Dorothy L. Sayers. Vol. 1, 1899-1936 (1996)Description / Buy at
The Letters of Dorothy L. Sayers. Vol. 2, 1937-1943 (1998)Description / Buy at
The letters of Dorothy L. Sayers. Vol. 3, 1944-1950 (1999)Description / Buy at
The Letters of Dorothy L. Sayers: 1951-1957 (2000)Description / Buy at
The Letters of Dorothy L. Sayers: Child and Woman of Her Time (2002)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Great Short Stories of Detection, Mystery and Horror(1931)Description / Buy at
The Floating Admiral(1931)Description / Buy at
Ask a Policeman(1933)Description / Buy at
More Anatomy of Murder(1936)Description / Buy at
Fifty Famous Detectives of Fiction(1948)Description / Buy at
Human And Inhuman Stories(1963)Description / Buy at
Nine Detective Stories(1964)Description / Buy at
The Scoop and Behind the Screen(1983)Description / Buy at
Double Death(1985)Description / Buy at
English Country House Murders(1988)Description / Buy at
Crime Never Pays(2001)Description / Buy at
The Best Crime Stories Ever Told(2002)Description / Buy at
Murder On The Railways(2003)Description / Buy at
The Longman Anthology of Detective Fiction(2004)Description / Buy at
The Philosophy of Sherlock Holmes(2012)Description / Buy at
Murder in Midsummer: Classic Mysteries for the Holidays(2019)Description / Buy at

Notes: Peter Wimsey and Harriet Vane is co-authored by Jill Paton Walsh. Ask a Policeman is co-authored by Anthony Berkeley and Milward Kennedy.

If You Like Dorothy L. Sayers Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Dorothy L. Sayers Books

One Response to “Order of Dorothy L. Sayers Books”

  1. Lajeanne Leveton: 5 years ago

    Also, if you like Dorothy Sayers, be sure to see the four books written by Jill Paton Walsh that continue the Peter Wimsey story and do it in the same vein as Sayers.


Leave a Reply