Chief Inspector Reginald Wexford is the protagonist in a series of detective fiction novels by British author Ruth Rendell. The character has appeared in a television series where he was played by George Baker.

The Inspector Wexford series began in 1964 with From Doon With Death. Below is a list of the Inspector Wexford books by Ruth Rendell in order of when they were originally published (which is also their chronological order):

Publication Order of Inspector Wexford Books

From Doon With Death(1964)Description / Buy at
Sins of the Fathers / A New Lease of Death(1967)Description / Buy at
Wolf to the Slaughter(1967)Description / Buy at
The Best Man to Die(1969)Description / Buy at
A Guilty Thing Surprised(1970)Description / Buy at
No More Dying Then(1971)Description / Buy at
Murder Being Once Done(1972)Description / Buy at
Some Lie and Some Die(1973)Description / Buy at
Shake Hands Forever(1975)Description / Buy at
A Sleeping Life(1978)Description / Buy at
Death Notes / Put On By Cunning(1981)Description / Buy at
Speaker of Mandarin(1983)Description / Buy at
An Unkindness of Ravens(1985)Description / Buy at
The Veiled One(1988)Description / Buy at
Kissing the Gunner's Daughter(1992)Description / Buy at
Ginger and the Kingsmarkham(1992)Description / Buy at
Simisola(1994)Description / Buy at
Road Rage(1997)Description / Buy at
Harm Done(1999)Description / Buy at
The Babes in the Wood(2002)Description / Buy at
End in Tears(2005)Description / Buy at
Not in the Flesh(2007)Description / Buy at
The Monster in the Box(2009)Description / Buy at
The Vault(2011)Description / Buy at
No Man's Nightingale(2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Inspector Wexford Collections Books

Notes: A New Lease of Death is also known as The Sins of the Fathers. Put on by Cunning is also known as Death Notes.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Inspector Wexford Books

Leave a Reply