Fonda Lee is a science fiction author best known for her Green Bone Saga series of books. That series begins with Jade City, a book that won the 2018 World Fantasy Award for Best Novel.

Fonda found writing at a young age and actually completed her first novel when she was just in fifth grade. Despite the love of writing, she did spend a time of her life working as a corporate strategist for Fortune 500 companies. She lived in Calgary, Alberta, Canada for her early life, but now lives in Portland, Oregon.

Get notified when Fonda Lee releases a new book at

Publication Order of Breathmarked Books

(with Shannon Lee)

Breath of the Dragon (2025)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Exo Books

Publication Order of Green Bone Saga Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Laksa Anthology Books

Strangers Among Us: Tales of the Underdogs and Outcasts (2016)Description / Buy at
The Sum of Us: Tales of the Bonded and Bound (2017)Description / Buy at
Where the Stars Rise: Asian Science Fiction and Fantasy (2017)Description / Buy at
Shades Within Us: Tales of Migrations and Fractured Borders (2018)Description / Buy at
Seasons Between Us: Tales of Identities and Memories (2021)Description / Buy at
Anthology series.

Publication Order of Anthologies

Grimdark Magazine Issue #20(2019)Description / Buy at
Grimdark Magazine Issue #33(2023)Description / Buy at

If You Like Fonda Lee Books, You’ll Love…

Jade City is the book that put Fonda Lee on the map and really kicked off the Green Bone Saga. The book tells of the island of Kekon, where Jade is the lifeblood of the land. The Green Bone Warriors have used it to enhance their magical abilities and it has led to the war ending. They now live in a world where money and protecting your own is the only thing that matters these days. When a new drug hits the market, one that lets anyone wield jade’s powers, it will start a civil war on the island. A war that will determine the fate of all Green Bones.

Another science fiction novel from Lee is called Exo. The book takes place a century after Earth turns into a colony for an alien race. The book sees Donovan Reyes, a Prime Liasion to the aliens in the collaborationist government. He is happy with his life and social standing, and is said to have a bright future. That all changes one day when he is abducted by the anti-alien human revolutionary forces known as Sapience. Donovan’s life could be the difference between survival and the start of a second intergalactic war.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Fonda Lee Books

Leave a Reply