Franklin Horton is an American author out of Virginia. He is known for writing post-apocalyptic and thriller fiction, including the Mad Mick series and The Borrowed World series.

Horton does his writing at his home in the mountains of southwestern Virginia. He went to college in his home state as well as he attended Virginia Intermont College and Virginia Commonwealth University. When he is not writing, he enjoys spending time in the outdoors with his wife and children. They enjoy camping, kayaking, backpacking, mountain biking, and shooting.

Get notified when Franklin Horton releases a new book at

Publication Order of Borrowed World Books

The Borrowed World (2015)Description / Buy at
Ashes of the Unspeakable (2015)Description / Buy at
Legion of Despair (2016)Description / Buy at
No Time for Mourning (2017)Description / Buy at
Valley of Vengeance (2017)Description / Buy at
Switched On (2018)Description / Buy at
The Ungovernable (2019)Description / Buy at
Blood and Banjos (2020)Description / Buy at
Resurgent (2021)Description / Buy at
The Reset Roadhouse (2022)Description / Buy at
The Endarkened (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Locker Nine Books

Locker Nine (2016)Description / Buy at
Grace Under Fire (2017)Description / Buy at
Compound Fracture (2019)Description / Buy at
Blood Bought (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Mad Mick Books

The Mad Mick (2018)Description / Buy at
Masters of Mayhem (2019)Description / Buy at
Brutal Business (2020)Description / Buy at
Northern Sun (2020)Description / Buy at
Punching Tickets (2021)Description / Buy at
Ultraviolent (2021)Description / Buy at
The Death Dealer's Manual (2022)Description / Buy at
American Oligarch (2022)Description / Buy at
Shift Point (2023)Description / Buy at
Dislocated (2023)Description / Buy at
Hostile Takeover (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Ty Stone Thriller Books

Publication Order of The Way of Dan Books

Burning Down Boise (2020)Description / Buy at
The Path of Water (2021)Description / Buy at
Boondock Pilgrims (2022)Description / Buy at
The Oracle (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

If You Like Franklin Horton Books, You’ll Love…

The Borrowed World is the first book in a series of the same name. Jim Powell was a prepper who never liked leaving his family behind when he had to go out of town on business. To ease his mind, he always carried with him a Get Home bag with a Get Home plan just in case something bad happened. Then something bad happens, a terror attack. Jim finds himself miles from his family in a society gone lawless. Despite being ready for a situation like this, Jim finds that actually being in a societal collapse is much different from actually experiencing one. He’ll need to meet this world head-on if he wants to get back to his family that needs him.

Horton is also the author of The Mad Mick, the first book in the series of the same name. Conor Maguire lost his daughter years ago and then took matters into his own hands to get revenge. He got away with the crime, but his actions were noticed by a covert government agency who recruited him. He went to work with them, building custom weapons of destruction. Now Conor lives with Barb in a compound in the mountains of Virginia, safe from the societal collapse of the United States. Then one day Barb is kidnapped and these kidnappers will soon learn why he was nicknamed Mad Mick, and they aren’t going to like it.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Franklin Horton Books

Leave a Reply