Garrison Keillor is an American author and radio personality best known for his fictional Lake Wobegon series of books. Lake Wobegon is a fictional Minnesota town that is the center of a lot of his stories. He is also known for his long run as the creator of the Minnesota Public Radio show, A Prairie Home Companion that was syndicated throughout the world.

Known for his “North-Central” accent (eh), he has gotten a lot of voiceover work in his career as well. He was a key voice in Ken Burns’s Baseball and Civil War documentaries and also voiced Odin, the greek god, in the Disney animated series Hercules. Keillor has had a long career in writing, radio and voiceover work that spans over 30 years. Keillor graduated from Anoka High School and then attended the University of Minnesota where he received his bachelor’s degree in English. His hometown of Anoka, Minnesota definitely helped for the basis of Lake Woebegon.

Get notified when Garrison Keillor releases a new book at

Publication Order of Lake Wobegon Books

Lake Wobegon Days (1985)Description / Buy at
Leaving Home (1987)Description / Buy at
We Are Still Married (1989)Description / Buy at
Wobegon Boy (1997)Description / Buy at
Lake Wobegon Summer 1956 (2001)Description / Buy at
In Search of Lake Wobegon (2006)Description / Buy at
Pontoon (2007)Description / Buy at
Liberty (2008)Description / Buy at
Life Among the Lutherans (2009)Description / Buy at
Pilgrims (2009)Description / Buy at
The Lake Wobegon Virus (2020)Description / Buy at
Boom Town (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Good Poems Books

Good Poems for Hard Times (2005)Description / Buy at
Good Poems, American Places (2010)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Sandy Bottom Orchestra (1996)Description / Buy at
Me By JimmyValente, Governor Of Minnesota (1999)Description / Buy at
Love Me (2003)Description / Buy at
A Christmas Blizzard (2009)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Collections

WLT: A Radio Romance / Radio Romance (1989)Description / Buy at
The Book of Guys (1993)Description / Buy at
Truckstop and Other Lake Wobegon Stories (1995)Description / Buy at
Keillor Christmas (2000)Description / Buy at
Home on the Prairie (2003)Description / Buy at
Garrison Keillor: A Life in Comedy (2003)Description / Buy at
A Prairie Home Collection (2006)Description / Buy at
The Keillor Reader (2009)Description / Buy at
77 Love Sonnets (2009)Description / Buy at
Guy Noir and the Straight Skinny (2012)Description / Buy at
O, What a Luxury (2013)Description / Buy at
A Luxury of Limericks (2018)Description / Buy at
Living with Limericks (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Picture Books

Cat, You Better Come Home (1995)Description / Buy at
The Old Man Who Loved Cheese (1996)Description / Buy at
Daddy's Girl (2005)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Happy to Be Here (1982)Description / Buy at
Ten Years (1984)Description / Buy at
A Prairie Home Christmas (1995)Description / Buy at
A Prairie Home Commonplace Book (1999)Description / Buy at
A Prairie Home Companion (1999)Description / Buy at
A Prairie Home Companion Songbook (2000)Description / Buy at
Homegrown Democrat (2004)Description / Buy at
Even More Pretty Good Jokes (With: Roy Blount Jr.) (2009)Description / Buy at
Pretty Good Joke Book (2015)Description / Buy at
Sounding Off! (2016)Description / Buy at
That Time of Year: A Minnesota Life (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Contemporary Literature and the Life of Faith Books

Listening for God Reader, Vol. 1 (1994)Description / Buy at
Listening for God, Vol. 2 (By: Anne Tyler,John Updike,Tobias Wolff,Gail Godwin,Henry Louis Gates Jr.,Kathleen Norris,Paula J. Carlson,Peter S. Hawkins,Carol Bly,Andrew Dubus) (1996)Description / Buy at
Listening for God, Vol. 3 (By: Tillie Olsen,Wendell Berry,John Cheever,Louise Erdrich,Mary Gordon,Tess Gallagher,Reynolds Price,Oscar Hijuelos,Paula J. Carlson,Peter S. Hawkins) (2000)Description / Buy at
Listening For God, Vol. 4 (By: Robert Olen Butler,Allegra Goodman,James Baldwin,Kent Haruf,SueMiller,Doris Betts,Paula J. Carlson,Peter S. Hawkins,MichaelMalone,Alice Elliot Dark) (2002)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Great Baseball Stories(1990)Description / Buy at
Late Harvest(1991)Description / Buy at
Listening for God Reader, Vol. 1(1994)Description / Buy at
The Best American Short Stories 1998(1998)Description / Buy at
The New Treasury of Great Humorists(2010)Description / Buy at
2014 Saint Paul Almanac(2013)Description / Buy at

If You Like Garrison Keillor Books, You’ll Love…

The first book in the Lake Woebegon series is Lake Woebegon Days. This is definitely more of a collection of stories than a book with an overarching plot. The early portion of the book is told more like a history of the small town. Later in the book, Keillor covers the relationships of the people and their lives. The book has been praised for taking the small town life and making it universal with great humor.

Another great entry, as heard on A Prairie Home Companion, is News from Lake Woebegon: Spring. This is one of the most popular of his works, especially for the hilarious story “Tomato Butt” which is just plain, good fun for the whole family. Keillor continues to be a master at developing his characters and having them interact through interweaving stories.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Garrison Keillor Books

Leave a Reply