Garth Greenwell is an author who made his debut with What Belongs to You. That book went on to win the British Book Award for Debut of the Year, was longlisted for the National Book Award, and was a finalist for six other awards. The book was named a Best Book of the Year by over fifty publications and has since been translated into numerous languages.

Greenwell followed that book up with Cleanness which was named a New York Times Notable Book of 2020, a New York Times Critics Top 10 book of the year, and a Best Book of the year by the New Yorker, TIME, NPR, the BBC, and many other publications. In addition to his work as an author, he has written criticism for publications like The New Yorker, the London Review of Books, and the New York Times Book Review. Greenwell makes his home in Iowa City where he lives with his partner, the poet Luis Muñoz.

Get notified when Garth Greenwell releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Anthologies

If You Like Garth Greenwell Books, You’ll Love…

What Belongs to You starts on a warm autumn day when an American teachers enters a public bathroom under Sofia’s National Palace of Culture and pays a young hustler named Mitko for sex. The teacher makes his return here, to Mitko, again and again over the next few months and finds himself drawn into a dangerous relationship. The teacher tries to reconcile with the feelings he’s having, forcing him to grapple with his own past and upbringing in the south where to be queer was to be a pariah.

Cleanness is another trip to the world of What Belongs to You. The American teacher is still trying to navigate the world of Sofia, Bulgaria when a queer student makes a confession to him that will have him recalling his own first love and the wounds that come with it.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Garth Greenwell Books

Leave a Reply