Gil Reavill is an American screenwriter, journalist and author who has penned many popular true crime novels as well as writing some historical books like. He wrote Famous Nathan: A Family Saga of Coney Island, the American Dream, and the Search for the Perfect Hot Dog, with Lloyd Handwerker in 2016. Reavill’s fiction work is known as the 13 series starring Layla Remington.

He also wrote the screenplay for the film Dirty that starred Cuba Gooding Jr. and was directed by Chris Fisher. He wrote numerous true crime articles for GQ Magazine from 1998 to 2004. He’s also worked extensively as a ghostwriter. Reavill was born in Wisconsin where he attended the University of Wisconsin-Madison before heading to the University of Colorado. He currently lives in New York with his wife and daughter.

Get notified when Gil Reavill releases a new book at

Publication Order of Layla Remington Mystery Books

13 Hollywood Apes (2014)Description / Buy at
13 Stolen Girls (2015)Description / Buy at
13 Under the Wire (2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

This Land is No Stranger (With: Sarah Hollister) (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Compass American Guides: Manhattan (1994)Description / Buy at
Compass American Guides: Hollywood (1994)Description / Buy at
Smut: A Sex-Industry Insider (and Concerned Father) Says Enough is Enough (2005)Description / Buy at
Aftermath, Inc. (2007)Description / Buy at
Mafia Summit (2013)Description / Buy at
Famous Nathan (2016)Description / Buy at

If You Like Gil Reavill Books, You’ll Love…

13 Hollywood Apes is the first book in the Layla Remington mystery series. Layla is a Malibu detective called to the scene of a deadly crime with bodies left everywhere. The only problem is the bodies aren’t human, they’re monkeys. Someone wanted these animals dead though and Remington is determined to get to the bottom of it. When the lone surviving ape disappears with a man, Layla will go out looking for him. When there are ferocious attacks committed, it appears that the missing monkey may be the culprit. This is a truly strange case and Layla needs to solve it before the violence gets worse.

One of Reavill’s biggest hit books was Aftermath, Inc.: Cleaning Up After CSI Goes Home. The book enters the world of the disturbing but fascinating world of bio-recovery. For a long time in this country there was no one who would clean up after a murder or suicide took place. At best you could hope for was a can of ground coffee and some volunteers to clean up the mess. This book follows Tim Reifsteck and Chris Wilson who started a bio-remediation company to clean up in the aftermath and their story is almost stranger than fiction.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Gil Reavill Books

Leave a Reply