Grace Lin is an American author and illustrator of children’s books – from picture books to novels. She is a New York Times bestselling author. Grace grew up wanting to be an ice skater, but she didn’t have the attributes required to make it in that world. Instead, it was the pictures she drew that became her focus. She attended the Rhode Island School of Design, and set her goals on doing children’s books. Thus far in her career, she’s been awarded such honours as the American Booksellers Association’s “Pick of the List,” Bank’s Street College Best Books of the Year, Growing Good Kids Book Award Classic, Newbery Honor, Al Roker‘s Today Show Kid’s Book Club, Theodor Geisel Honor and many more. Aside from her books, Grace is a New York Times reviewer, an advocate for diversity, and a commentator for New England Public Radio. She lives in Florence, Massachusetts with her husband and daughter.

Grace Lin made her debut as an author and illustrator in 1999 with the picture book The Ugly Vegetables. Her debut novel, The Year of the Dog, was published in 2006. Below is a list of Grace Lin’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Grace Lin releases a new book at

Publication Order of Pacy Books

The Year of the Dog (2005)Description / Buy at
The Year of the Rat (2008)Description / Buy at
Dumpling Days (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Ling & Ting Books

Ling & Ting: Not Exactly the Same! (2010)Description / Buy at
Ling & Ting Share a Birthday (2013)Description / Buy at
Ling & Ting: Twice as Silly (2014)Description / Buy at
Ling & Ting: Together in All Weather (2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Where the Mountain Meets the Moon (2009)Description / Buy at
Starry River of the Sky (2012)Description / Buy at
When the Sea Turned to Silver (2016)Description / Buy at
Mulan (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Children's Books

I Am an American: The Wong Kim Ark Story (With: Julia Kuo,Martha Brockenbrough) (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Picture Books

The Ugly Vegetables (1999)Description / Buy at
Dim Sum for Everyone! (2001)Description / Buy at
Kite Flying (2002)Description / Buy at
Okie, Dokie Artichokie (2003)Description / Buy at
Fortune Cookie Fortunes (2004)Description / Buy at
Robert's Snow (2004)Description / Buy at
Christmas Carols (2004)Description / Buy at
The Twelve Days of Christmas (2004)Description / Buy at
Robert's Snowflakes (2005)Description / Buy at
Lissy's Friends (2007)Description / Buy at
The Red Thread (2007)Description / Buy at
Bringing In the New Year (2008)Description / Buy at
Thanking the Moon (2010)Description / Buy at
Circle! Sphere! (2020)Description / Buy at
Up to My Knees! (2020)Description / Buy at
What Will Fit? (2020)Description / Buy at
Once Upon a Book (With: Kate Messner) (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of She Persisted Books

Ella Fitzgerald (By: Andrea Davis Pinkney) (2002)Description / Buy at
Stella Batts Something Blue (By: Courtney Sheinmel) (2014)Description / Buy at
13 American Women Who Changed the World (By: Chelsea Clinton) (2017)Description / Buy at
She Persisted Around the World (By: Chelsea Clinton) (2018)Description / Buy at
She Persisted in Sports: American Olympians Who Changed the Game (By: Chelsea Clinton) (2020)Description / Buy at
Harriet Tubman (By: Andrea Davis Pinkney) (2021)Description / Buy at
Claudette Colvin (By: Lesa Cline-Ransome) (2021)Description / Buy at
Sally Ride (By: Atia Abawi) (2021)Description / Buy at
Virginia Apgar (By: Sayantani DasGupta) (2021)Description / Buy at
Nellie Bly (By: Michelle Knudsen) (2021)Description / Buy at
Sonia Sotomayor (By: Meg Medina) (2021)Description / Buy at
Florence Griffith Joyner (By: Rita Williams-Garcia) (2021)Description / Buy at
Ruby Bridges (By: Kekla Magoon) (2021)Description / Buy at
Clara Lemlich (By: Deborah Heiligman) (2021)Description / Buy at
Margaret Chase Smith (By: Ruby Shamir) (2021)Description / Buy at
Maria Tallchief (By: Christine Day) (2021)Description / Buy at
Helen Keller (By: Courtney Sheinmel) (2021)Description / Buy at
Oprah Winfrey (By: Renée Watson) (2021)Description / Buy at
Wangari Maathai (By: Eucabeth A. Odhiambo) (2022)Description / Buy at
She Persisted in Science: Brilliant Women Who Made a Difference (By: Chelsea Clinton) (2022)Description / Buy at
Temple Grandin (By: Lyn Miller-Lachmann) (2022)Description / Buy at
Patsy Mink (By: Tae Keller) (2022)Description / Buy at
Patsy Mink (By: Tae Keller) (2022)Description / Buy at
Malala Yousafzai (By: Aisha Saeed) (2022)Description / Buy at
Diana Taurasi (By: Monica Brown) (2022)Description / Buy at
Wilma Mankiller (By: Traci Sorell) (2022)Description / Buy at
Maya Lin (2022)Description / Buy at
Rosalind Franklin (By: Kimberly Brubaker Bradley) (2022)Description / Buy at
Dorothy Height (By: Kelly Starling Lyons) (2023)Description / Buy at
Florence Nightingale (By: Alexandra Boiger,Chelsea Clinton,Gillian Flint,Shelli R. Johannes) (2023)Description / Buy at
Pura Belpré (By: Meg Medina,Marilisa Jimenez Garcia) (2023)Description / Buy at
Simone Biles (By: Kekla Magoon) (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Been There, Done That(2015)Description / Buy at
The Creativity Project(2018)Description / Buy at
Super Puzzletastic Mysteries(2020)Description / Buy at
The Talk: Conversations About Race, Love & Truth(2020)Description / Buy at

If You Like Grace Lin Books, You’ll Love…

Grace Lin Synopses: The Year of the Dog is the first Pacy Lin novel by Grace Lin. When Pacy’s mom tells her that this is a good year for friends, family, and “finding herself,” Pacy begins searching right away. As the year progresses, she struggles to find her talent, deals with disappointment, makes a new best friend, and discovers just why the Year of the Dog is a lucky one for her after all.

Where the Mountain Meets the Moon is a standalone fantasy title by Grace Lin based on Chinese folklore. In the valley of Fruitless mountain, a young girl named Minli lives in a ramshackle hut with her parents. In the evenings, her father regales her with old folktales of the Jade Dragon and the Old Man on the Moon, who knows the answers to all of life’s questions. Inspired by these stories, Minli sets off on an extraordinary journey to find the Old Man on the Moon to ask him how she can change her family’s fortune. She encounters an assorted cast of characters and magical creatures along the way, including a dragon who accompanies her on her quest for the ultimate answer.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Grace Lin Books

Leave a Reply