Hilary Mantel (Photo Credit: John Haynes)
Hilary Mantel was an English author of historical fiction and literary fiction novels. She wrote the Thomas Cromwell/Wolf Hall Trilogy. Hilary studied law at the London School of Economics, but transferred to the University of Sheffield where she graduated as Bachelor of Jurisprudence. After marrying geologist Gerald McEwen, she lived in Botswana and then Saudi Arabia. Upon returning to England, she became a film critic for The Spectator while she wrote her early novels. Hilary had won several awards, including (but not limited to) the Man Booker Prize, Walter Scott Prize and the Costa Novel Prize.

Hilary passed in September 2022.

Hilary Mantel became a published author in 1985 with the novel Every Day is Mother’s Day. She followed it up the following year with the sequel Vacant Possession. Below is a list of Hilary Mantel’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Publication Order of Axon Family Books

Every Day is Mother's Day (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Vacant Possession (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Thomas Cromwell Books

Wolf Hall (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Bring Up the Bodies (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Wolf Hall & Bring Up The Bodies (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Mirror and the Light (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Eight Months on Ghazzah Street (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Fludd (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Place of Greater Safety (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Change of Climate (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
An Experiment in Love (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Giant, O'Brien (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Beyond Black (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

How Shall I Know You? (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Learning to Talk (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Assassination of Margaret Thatcher (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Mantel Pieces (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Giving Up the Ghost (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Memoir of My Former Self: A Life in Writing (With: Ben Miles,Nicholas Pearson,Bill Hamilton,Aurora Dawson-Hunte,Jane Wymark,Lydia Leonard) (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of The Human Predicament Books

(with Richard Hughes)

The Fox in the Attic (1961)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Fox in the Attic (By: Richard Hughes) (1961)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Wooden Shepherdess (1973)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

Best European Fiction 2011(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
By the Book(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Hilary Mantel Books, You’ll Love…

Hilary Mantel Synopsis: Every Day is Mother’s Day is the debut novel of British novelist Hilary Mantel. Evelyn Axon is a medium by trade, while her daughter, Muriel, is a half-wit. Stuck in a house that’s falling apart and surrounded by garbage, they defy the curiosity of their neighbors and their social worker, Isabel Field. Isabel is young and inexperienced and has her own problems: an old, senile father, and a lover, Colin, who wants her to run away with him. The problem with running away with Colin is he has three horrible children and a pregnant wife. As Isabel deals with these problems, a horrible secret looms over the Axon household. When it’s revealed, the result is both hilarious and terrifying. The novel is followed by a sequel, Vacant Possession, set ten years later.

Shop Worldwide: Amazon.com | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.ca

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Hilary Mantel Books

Leave a Reply