Irving Stone
Irving Stone (1903-1989) was an American author of biographical novels and non-fiction books. He earned his Bachelor’s Degree from U.C. Berkeley in 1923 and a Master’s Degree in 1924 from the University of Southern California.

Irving Stone made his debut as a novelist in 1934 with Lust for Life. Below is a list of Irving Stone’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Lust for Life (1934)Description / Buy at
Adversary in the House (1947)Description / Buy at
Clarence Darrow for the Defence (1949)Description / Buy at
Immortal Wife (1950)Description / Buy at
The Passionate Journey (1950)Description / Buy at
The President's Lady (1952)Description / Buy at
Love Is Eternal (1955)Description / Buy at
The Agony and the Ecstasy (1961)Description / Buy at
Those Who Love (1966)Description / Buy at
The Passions of the Mind (1971)Description / Buy at
The Greek Treasure (1975)Description / Buy at
The Origin (1980)Description / Buy at
Depths of Glory (1985)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The Irving Stone Reader (1971)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Sailor on Horseback (1938)Description / Buy at
Earl Warren (1948)Description / Buy at
Men to Match My Mountains (1956)Description / Buy at
Dear Theo (1958)Description / Buy at
Drawings of Michaelangelo (1960)Description / Buy at
They Also Ran (1966)Description / Buy at
There Was Light (1970)Description / Buy at
Mary Todd Lincoln, A Final Judgement? (1973)Description / Buy at
From Mud-Flat Cove to Gold to Statehood: California, 1840-1850 (1999)Description / Buy at

If You Like Irving Stone Books, You’ll Love…

Irving Stone Synopses: Lust for Life by Irving Stone is the story of Vincent Van Gogh – brilliant painter, passionate lover, and alleged madman. Here is his tempestuous story: his dramatic life, his fevered loves for both the highest-born women and the lowest prostitutes, and his paintings – for which he was damned before being proclaimed a genius. The novel goes from his desperate days in a coal mine in southern Belgium to his dazzling years in the south of France, where he knew the most brilliant artists (and the most depraved whores). Finally, it shows us Van Gogh driven mad, tragic, and triumphant at once.

The President’s Lady is a biographical novel by Irving Stone, bringing to life the tender and poignant love story of Rachel and Andrew Jackson.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Irving Stone Books

Leave a Reply