James A Michener
James A. Michener (1907-1997) was an American author of historical fiction and non-fiction. He is well-known for the amount of research that went into his work in addition to the length of his novels (900 pages was a short novel for him). Michener was awarded with the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction for his novel Tales of the South Pacific, which was published in 1948. His novels have been adapted into several different films as well as multiple TV series and mini-series. Michener died in 1997 of kidney failure at the age of 90.

James A. Michener became a published author in 1948 with the short story collection Tales of the South Pacific. His first novel was The Fires of Spring, which was published in 1949. Below is a list of James A. Michener’s books in order of when they were first released:

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Tales of the South Pacific (1947)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Return to Paradise (1947)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Rascals In Paradise (1957)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Watermen: Selections from Chesapeake (1979)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Creatures of the Kingdom (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Bridge at Andau (1957)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Japanese Prints from Early Masters to the Modern (1959)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Modern Japanese Print: An Appreciation (1959)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Iberia: Spanish Travels and Reflections (1968)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Presidential Lottery: The Reckless Gamble in Our Electoral System (1969)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Kent State: What Happened and Why (1971)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Michener Miscellany, 1950-1970 (1973)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Sports in America (1976)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
James A. Michener's USA: The People and The Land (With: Peter Chaitin) (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Six Days in Havana (With: John Kings) (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Pilgrimage: A Memoir of Poland and Rome (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The World is My Home (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
My Lost Mexico: The Making of a Novel (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
James A. Michener's Writer's Handbook: Explorations in Writing and Publishing (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Literary Reflections (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Ventures In Editing (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
This Noble Land: My Vision for America (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Islam: The Misunderstood Religion (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

This Was Your War(1960)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Firstfruits: A Harvest of 25 Years of Israeli Writing(1973)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Great World War II Stories(1989)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
On Glorious Wings(2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Note: Six Days in Havana was co-authored with John Kings.

If You Like James A. Michener Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: Amazon.com | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.ca

Order of Books » Authors » Order of James A. Michener Books

One Response to “Order of James A. Michener Books”

  1. rpage44: 4 years ago

    Which Michener book refrences mickey mouse


Leave a Reply