J.M. Coetzee is a South African novelist and Nobel Prize winner. He is perhaps best known for his books, Life & Times of Michael K and Disgrace. Both of them won the Booker Prize, making him the first author to be awarded the Booker Prize twice.

Coetzee was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 2003. He was the fourth African writer to be honored and the second South African to be honored after Nadine Gordimer. Coetzee was awarded the Order of Mapungubwe by the South African government for his “exceptional contribution in the field of literature and for putting South Africa on the world stage.” In addition to that, he holds numerous honorary doctorates and is considered one of the most celebrated authors of his time.

Get notified when J.M. Coetzee releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Jesus Trilogy Books

The Childhood of Jesus (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Schooldays of Jesus (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Death of Jesus (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Scenes from Provincial Life Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

In the Heart of the Country (1976)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Lives of Animals (With: Peter Singer) (1977)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Waiting for the Barbarians (1980)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Life and Times of Michael K (1983)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Foe (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Age Of Iron (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Master of Petersburg (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Disgrace (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Elizabeth Costello (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Slow Man (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Diary of a Bad Year (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Pole (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

White Writing (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Doubling the Point (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Giving Offense (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Stranger Shores (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Nobel Lecture in Literature, 2003 (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Inner Workings (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Here and Now (With: Paul Auster) (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Good Story (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Late Essays (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
J.M. Coetzee - Photographs from Boyhood (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

Granta 58: Ambition(1997)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Gods and Soldiers(2009)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Cape Town Calling(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Best Australian Essays: A Ten-Year Collection(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Best Australian Essays 2014(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Afflict the Comfortable(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Best Australian Essays 2016(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Best Australian Essays 2017(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Writers: Their Lives and Works(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like J.M. Coetzee Books, You’ll Love…

Disgrace focuses on Professor David Lurie at the age of 52. He is divorced and looking for passion in his life. When he has an affair with a student he ends up jobless, shunned by his friends, and ridiculed by his ex-wife. He ends up heading off to his daughter Lucy’s place to visit. His visit becomes a stay as he tries to salvage this one relationship that he has left. Their strained relationship is put to the ultimate test when an incident of unimaginable terror and violence forces them to confront things about themselves and South Africa.

Another good book by Coetzee is The Childhood of Jesus. The book focuses on a young man named David who is separated from him mother on a boat bound for the new land. He’s adrift in the world, but a passenger named Simon vows to look after him. The two end up strangers in a strange land, not knowing the language or customs, on the search for Simon’s mother that he has no memory of.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of J.M. Coetzee Books

Leave a Reply