Jack McDevitt is an American science fiction author best known as the author and creator of the Alex Benedict series and the Priscilla Hutchins series.

McDevitt was nominated for numerous Nebula Awards and won the award in 2006 for Seeker. He is also a Robert A. Heinlein Award winner. McDevitt won a short story contest as a freshman at La Salle University, but moved away from writing after that. He received a master’s degree in literature from Wesleyan University in 1971 and in 1980 his wife encouraged him to try writing again. The rest, as they say, is history.

Get notified when Jack McDevitt releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Alex Benedict Books

Publication Order of The Academy Books

Publication Order of Ancient Shores Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Hercules Text (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Eternity Road (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Moonfall (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Infinity Beach / Slow Lightning (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Hello Out There (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Time Travelers Never Die (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Cassandra Project (With: Mike Resnick) (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Voice in the Night (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Return to Glory (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Fort Moxie Branch (in Full Spectrum 1) (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Time Travelers Never Die (in Asimov's) (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Doorway to the Stars (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Collections

Publication Order of Defending the Future Books

Dogs of War (By: Brenda Cooper,David Sherman,Danielle Ackley-McPhail,Mike McPhail) (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Best of Defending the Future (With: Charles E. Gannon,Danielle Ackley-McPhail,Mike McPhail) (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Man and Machine (By: James Chambers,Jennifer Brozek,Brenda Cooper,Aaron Rosenberg,Nancy Jane Moore,Bud Sparhawk,Jeff Young,Robert E. Waters,Danielle Ackley-McPhail,Patrick Thomas,Mike McPhail,Judi Fleming,Anton Kukal,Eric V. Hardenbrook,Ronald Garner) (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
In Harm's Way (By: Mike McPhail) (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Best Laid Plans (By: Jack Campbell,James Chambers,John L. French,Jack Campbell Jr.,Keith R.A. DeCandido,Jeff Youngquist,Nancy Jane Moore,Bud Sparhawk,David Sherman,Jeff Young,Maria V. Snyder,Jeff Young,Danielle Ackley-McPhail,Jeffrey Lyman,Judi Fleming,Eric V. Hardenbrook,Peter Prellwitz,Eric V. Hardenbrook) (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Year's Best Science Fiction: Second Annual Collection(1985)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Full Spectrum 1(1988)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Asimov's Science Fiction Magazine, October 1992(1992)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Asimov's Science Fiction, May 1996(1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Time Machines(1997)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Explorers(2000)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Nebula Awards Showcase 2007(2007)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Breach the Hull(2007)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Sideways In Crime(2008)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Fast Forward 2(2008)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Year's Best SF 16(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Going Interstellar(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Futuredaze: An Anthology of YA Science Fiction(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Other Half of the Sky(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Impossible Futures(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Carbide Tipped Pens(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Future Visions(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
To Shape the Dark(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Beyond Watson(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Best of Defending the Future(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Ex Libris: Stories of Librarians, Libraries, and Lore(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Jack McDevitt Books, You’ll Love…

A Talent For War is the first book in the Alex Benedict series of books. Alex Benedict is an antiquities dealer with a late uncle that was an archaeologist. His uncle dies and leaves with him his last remaining mission. He’ll have to investigate the hero Christopher Sim who changed mankind’s history forever when he forged a rag-tag group of misfits into the weapon that broke the alien Ashiyyur. Benedict’s uncle believed that Sim was a fraud and Alex must follow the story into the heart of the alien galaxy to find out the truth.

Another series by McDevitt is The Academy series focusing on Priscilla Hutchins in some of her early adventures. The first book is called Engines of God and focuses on archaeologists in the late 2100s traveling into space to find answers. Fourteen mysterious statues have been found among the stars, so the archaeologists will work to uncover ruins and follow the clues to the builders’ identity in the farthest boundaries of the galaxy. Gradually the scientists perceive a cyclical pattern of destruction in the universe and a mystery unfolds, questioning if this is all part of some greater plan.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Jack McDevitt Books

Leave a Reply