James Fenimore Cooper was a prominent writer in the first part of the 1800s. He made his debut as a novelist with The Spy, but he is best known for writing The Last of the Mohicans which many people regard as his masterpiece and one of the early great novels.

In addition to his work as an author, he also published many pieces of a social and political nature that were designed to counter European prejudices and promoting original American art and culture. Cooper joined the crew of the merchant ship Sterling as a common sailor at the age of 17. His voyages lead him to Britain during their war with France. Their ship was boarded and one of their crew members was impressed into the British Royal Navy. It was this experience that lead to his commitment to helping create an American art independent of Britain. Cooper would go on to join the Navy before eventually leaving and starting his writing career.

Publication Order of The Leatherstocking Tales Books

The Pioneers (1823)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Prairie (1824)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Last of the Mohicans (1826)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Deerslayer (1840)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Pathfinder (1841)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Chronological Order of The Leatherstocking Tales Books

The Deerslayer(1840)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Last of the Mohicans(1826)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Pathfinder(1841)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Pioneers(1823)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Prairie(1824)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Homeward Bound Books

Home as Found (1838)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Homeward Bound or, the Chase (1838)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Miles Wallingford (1814)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Precaution (1820)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Spy (1821)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Pilot (1824)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Lionel Lincoln (1825)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Red Rover (1827)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Two Admirals (1842)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Wing-and-Wing (1842)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Afloat and Ashore (1844)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Satanstoe (1845)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Redskins (1846)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Crater (1847)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Oak Openings; or, The Bee Hunter (1848)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Sea Lions (1849)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The American Democrat (1891)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Homeward Bound (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

Writing New York(1998)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Great Sea Adventure(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Beach Books Anthology(2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Tales of the Restless Sea - Adventure Anthology(2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like James Fenimore Cooper Books, You’ll Love…

The Last of the Mohicans is considered to be Fenimore Cooper’s best work. The book is set in the area of Lake George, New York and is the story of the transport of the two daughters of Colonel Munro, Alice and Cora, as they head to Fort William Henry. There is a caravan guarding them on their journey that is lead by the frontiersman Natty Bumppo, Major Duncan Heyward, and the Indians Chingachgook and Uncas. A classic book, it has been adapted numerous times for film and television.

The Prairie is the third book in the Leatherstocking Tales series and follows Natty Bumppo, as known as “the trapper” or “the old man.” The book is the story of Natty in his final year as he continues to help people in distress on the American frontier.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of James Fenimore Cooper Books

Leave a Reply