Jan-Philipp Sendker is a long-time journalist and the author of the Art of Hearing Heartbeats series of books.

Sendker was a freelance journalist until he found full-time work with Stern magazine. He served as their U.S. correspondent for five years before becoming their Asia correspondent, living in Hong Kong. Sendker had hopes of becoming a novelist so he asked Stern for three years of unpaid leave so that he could write his first novel. That book would become The Art of Hearing Heartbeats. The book wasn’t an immediate hit and he had to go back to work, but eventually he was able to focus full-time on being a novelist.

Get notified when Jan-Philipp Sendker releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of The Art of Hearing Heartbeats Books

The Art of Hearing Heartbeats (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Well-Tempered Heart (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Heart Remembers (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of The Rising Dragon Books

Whispering Shadows (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Dragon Games / The Language of Solitude (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Far Side of the Night (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Rebel and the Thief (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The Long Path to Wisdom (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Jan-Philipp Sendker Books, You’ll Love…

The Art of Hearing Heartbeats is the first book in a series, and the book is an inspirational love story set in Burma. The book manages to span the decades between the 1950s and the present. The story begins with a New York lawyer disappearing without a trace. His wife and his daughter have no idea where he has gone off to, but then they find a love letter he wrote a long time ago that was for a Burmese woman they have never heard of. His daughter, Julia, decides to investigate this mystery further and travel to the village where the woman once lived. Here she finds a a history of hardship and passion that will reaffirm the reader’s power of love.

The second book in the series is called A Well-tempered Heart and picks up ten years since Julia’s trip to Burma. She is now a successful lawyer, but her private life is at a crossroads. Her boyfriend has left her and she is feeling lost and exhausted. Things get interesting when Julia starts to hear a voice in her head and she starts listening. She leaves the office without explanation one day as the voice begins to ask her personal questions that Julia has been trying to avoid answering.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Jan-Philipp Sendker Books

Leave a Reply