Fredrik Backman is an Swedish author of contemporary fiction novels. He writes for the publications Helsingborgs Dagblad and Moore Magazine. After being top sellers in Sweden, Fredrik’s novels have been translated into over 25 languages. Thus far, his novel A Man Called Ove has been adapted to film and Beartown is set to be adapted for television. Fredrik is married with two children.

Fredrik Backman made his debut as a novelist in 2012 in his native language of Swedish. His English debut came in 2014 with the novel A Man Called Ove. Below is a list of Fredrik Backman’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Fredrik Backman releases a new book at

Publication Order of Beartown Books

Beartown / The Scandal (2016)Description / Buy at
Us Against You (2017)Description / Buy at
The Winners (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

A Man Called Ove (2012)Description / Buy at
My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She's Sorry / My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises (2013)Description / Buy at
Britt-Marie Was Here (2014)Description / Buy at
Anxious People (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

And Every Morning the Way Home Gets Longer and Longer (2015)Description / Buy at
The Deal of a Lifetime (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Things My Son Needs to Know about the World (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Collections

The Deal of a Lifetime and Other Stories (2018)Description / Buy at

If You Like Fredrik Backman Books, You’ll Love…

Fredrik Backman Synopsis: A Man Called Ove is a standalone novel by Fredrik Backman. Upon first glance, Ove is as grumpy as they get. He thinks he is surrounded by idiots – neighbours who can’t reverse a trailer properly, joggers, shop assistants who talk in code, and the perpetrators of the vicious coup d’etat that ousted him as Chairman of the Residents’ Association. He will persist in making his daily inspection rounds of the local streets. But isn’t it rare, these days, to find such old-fashioned clarity of belief and deed? Such unswerving conviction about what the world should be, and a lifelong dedication to making it just so? In the end, you will see, there is more to Ove than meets the eye…

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Fredrik Backman Books

One Response to “Order of Fredrik Backman Books”

  1. Margaret: 3 years ago

    Anxious people was a great read. The character development was intriguing, complicated and simple!


Leave a Reply