Kent Haruf
Kent Haruf (1943-2014) was an American author of literary fiction novels. Kent was born in Colorado. He earned his Bachelor of Arts in literature from Nebraska Wesleyan University in 1965 and his Masters of Fine Arts from the Iowa Writers’ Workshop at the University of Iowa in 1973. He spent two years teaching English in Turkey with the Peace Corps. He’s also worked at a chicken farm, a construction site, a rehab center, a hospital, a library, an alternative high school and at universities.

Kent Haruf made his debut in 1984 with the novel The Tie That Binds. His final novel was Our Souls at Night, published in 2015. Below is a list of Kent Haruf’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Publication Order of Plainsong Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Tie That Binds (1984)Description / Buy at
Where You Once Belonged (1990)Description / Buy at
Our Souls at Night (2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Contemporary Literature and the Life of Faith Books

Listening for God Reader, Vol. 1 (By: Flannery O'Connor,Raymond Carver,Alice Walker,Garrison Keillor,Annie Dillard,Richard Rodríguez,Patricia Hampl,Peter Hawkins,Frederick Buechner,Paula J. Carlson,Peter S. Hawkins) (1994)Description / Buy at
Listening for God, Vol. 2 (By: Anne Tyler,John Updike,Tobias Wolff,Gail Godwin,Henry Louis Gates Jr.,Kathleen Norris,Paula J. Carlson,Peter S. Hawkins,Carol Bly,Andrew Dubus) (1996)Description / Buy at
Listening for God, Vol. 3 (By: Tillie Olsen,Wendell Berry,John Cheever,Louise Erdrich,Mary Gordon,Tess Gallagher,Reynolds Price,Oscar Hijuelos,Paula J. Carlson,Peter S. Hawkins) (2000)Description / Buy at
Listening For God, Vol. 4 (With: Robert Olen Butler,Allegra Goodman,James Baldwin,SueMiller,Doris Betts,Paula J. Carlson,Peter S. Hawkins,MichaelMalone,Alice Elliot Dark) (2002)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Writers on Writing(2001)Description / Buy at
Listening For God, Vol. 4(2002)Description / Buy at

If You Like Kent Haruf Books, You’ll Love…

Kent Haruf Synopses: The Tie That Binds is a standalone title by Kent Haruf. It’s Colorado in January 1977 and 80-year-old Edith Goodnough is lying in a hospital bed with an IV taped to the back of her hand and a police officer at her door. She is charged with murder. The clues: a sack of chicken feed slit with a knife, a milky-eyed dog tied outdoors one cold afternoon. The motives: the brutal business of farming and a family code of ethics as unforgiving as the winter prairie itself.

Where You Once Belonged is a standalone novel by Kent Haruf. The red Cadillac pulled down Main Street and sat by the tavern for hours, unnoticed. Then Ralph Bird of the Men’s Store recognized the driver as Jack Burdette and bolted to the sheriff’s office. The prodigal son of Holt, Colorado, had returned – and he is not exactly welcome.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Kent Haruf Books

Leave a Reply