Jane Austen (1775-1817) was an English author of romantic fiction, best known for classics including Sense and Sensibility and Pride and Prejudice. Her works are full of social commentary that made her historically significant and kept her name alive almost two hundred years after her death. Not much is known about Jane as a person; even though she wrote 3,000 letters, only 160 still exist.

During her relatively short lifetime, Jane only had four novels published, along with a short story called Lady Susan, poems, letters, prayers and juvenilia that she wrote as a youth. Following her death, two novels – Northanger Abbey and Persuasion – were published. She also left two unfinished novels behind that have been finished many times over by fans. Below is a list of Jane Austen’s published works in order of when they were originally published:

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Beautifull Cassandra (1793)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Lesley Castle: An Unfinished Novel In Letters (1793)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Lady Susan (1794)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Love and Freindship (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Wit and Wisdom of Jane Austen (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Memoir of Jane Austen (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Letters of Jane Austen (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Jane Austen's Little Book of Wisdom (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Juvenilia Books

Juvenilia Volume I Annotated (1787)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Juvenilia Volume II Annotated (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

Identity And Self Respect(1952)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
50 Classic Novellas(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Writers: Their Lives and Works(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
30 Eternal Masterpieces of Humorous Stories(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Women Who Wrote(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Love, Lust and Passion in Regency Times(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Bridgerthonian Novels(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Greatest Tales of Regency Romance(2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Jane Austen Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Jane Austen Books

Leave a Reply