Lynda La Plante is an English novelist and screenwriter in addition to being a former actress. Lynda writes novels that she adapts to television series through her production company, La Plante Productions. She is best known for her Prime Suspect ITV series starring Jane Tennison. Lynda lives in both London and Long Island, NY.

Lynda La Plante became a published author in 1983 with her Dolly Rawlings novel Widows. Below is a list of Lynda La Plante’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Lynda La Plante releases a new book at

Publication Order of Dolly Rawlins Books

Publication Order of Legacy Books

Publication Order of Jane Tennison Books

Publication Order of Prime Suspect Books

Prime Suspect (1991)Description / Buy at
A Face in the Crowd (1992)Description / Buy at
Silent Victims (1993)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Lorraine Page Books

Publication Order of Trial and Retribution Books

Trial and Retribution (1997)Description / Buy at
Trial and Retribution II (1998)Description / Buy at
Trial and Retribution III (1999)Description / Buy at
Trial and Retribution IV (2000)Description / Buy at
Trial and Retribution V (2002)Description / Buy at
Trial and Retribution VI (2002)Description / Buy at
Alibi (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anna Travis Books

Publication Order of DC Jack Warr Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Anthologies

Like a Charm(2004)Description / Buy at
Creative, Successful, Dyslexic: 23 High Achievers Share Their Stories(2015)Description / Buy at

Note: Royal Flush is also known as Royal Heist.

If You Like Lynda La Plante Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Lynda La Plante Books

5 Responses to “Order of Lynda La Plante Books”

  1. Liz: 7 years ago

    I guess I should bolster my claim with a few observations.

    The Tennisons seemed to be 70s-oriented. PS 1 is late 80s and w/ whole new crew. Just started PS2 and characters introduced in PS1 are present.

    In Good Friday Jane has her first cigarette and her sister Pam is childless after a miscarriage By PS Jane is trying to quit smoking and Pam has a couple kids.

    Really pretty disjointed transition.


  2. Liz: 7 years ago

    The chronological order of the Tennison/PrimeSuspect books is wrong. Reading now and all of the “Tennison series” books are first (prequel) to the Prime Suspect books.


    • Graeme: 7 years ago

      Sorry about that – not sure why that slipped by us. so just to confirm, it goes Tennison, Hidden Killers, Good Friday then Prime Suspect right? (I haven’t had a chance to read past Tennison yet to verify)


      • Liz: 7 years ago

        Correct. I read the Tennisons first and after seeing the OOB chrono order was concerned I was reading them out of order. It’s quite disjointed between the T and PS books but there is an odd order.

        Neat series. Prefer PS Jane to T Jane.

        Still not a big La Plante fan but an okay series. Serviceable.


        • Graeme: 7 years ago

          Thanks very much Liz I appreciate it for letting me know and apologies again about that. I’ve now updated the list.


Leave a Reply