Tess Gerritsen is an American novelist and physician who started out writing romantic suspense novels before moving onto medical thrillers in 1996 with Harvest. In her medical thrillers, she is known for her graphic detail of autopsy scenes. In 2001, she begun her Rizzoli & Isles series featuring Detective Jane Rizzoli and Medical Examiner Dr. Maura Isles which has been most of her novels since that time.

Gerritsen’s first book was released in 1987 after she had written two practice novels that went unpublished. Below is a list of all of Tess Gerritsen’s novels in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Tess Gerritsen releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Rizzoli & Isles Books

The Surgeon (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Apprentice (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Sinner (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Body Double (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Vanish (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Mephisto Club (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Keepsake / Keeping The Dead (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Ice Cold / The Killing Place (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Silent Girl (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Last to Die (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Die Again (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
I Know a Secret (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Listen to Me (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Rizzoli & Isles Short Stories Books

Publication Order of The Martini Club Books

The Spy Coast (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Summer Guests (2025)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Tavistock Family Books

In Their Footsteps (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Thief of Hearts (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Adventure's Mistress (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Call After Midnight (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Under the Knife (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Never Say Die (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Whistleblower (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Peggy Sue Got Murdered / Girl Missing (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Harvest (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Life Support (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Presumed Guilty (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Bloodstream (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Gravity (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Bone Garden (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Playing with Fire (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Shape of Night (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
On the Edge (With: Rita Herron) (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Choose Me (With: Gary Braver) (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
No Reason to Trust (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Her Protector Books

Keeper of the Bride (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Belladonna (By: Jenna Ryan) (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Little Girl Lost (By: Adrianne Lee) (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Storm Warnings (By: Judi Lind) (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
His Betrothed (By: Vivian Leiber) (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Easy Loving (By: Sheryl Lynn) (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Only Man to Trust (By: Grace Green) (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Jackson's Woman (By: Judi Lind) (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

Perfect Timing(2001)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
In the Shadow of the Master(2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Killer Year: Stories to Die For...(2008)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
No Rest for the Dead(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Unnerving Magazine #15(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Birds of Prey: The Harlan Coben Challenge(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Notes: Peggy Sue Got Murdered was re-released as Girl Missing. The Keepsake is known as Keeping the Dead in the UK. Ice Cold is known as The Killing Place in the UK. Thief of Hearts was also published as Stolen. The short story Freaks can be found in The Silent Girl.

If You Like Tess Gerritsen Books, You’ll Love…

Tess Gerritsen Synopses: Call After Midnight by Tess Gerritsen is a standalone novel. Sarah Fontaine, a newlywed filled with hope for her future, is faced with a devastating revelation: her husband, who she has been married to for just two months, has reportedly perished in a hotel fire while abroad. Consumed by disbelief and convinced that her husband might still be alive, Sarah joins forces with Nick O’Hara, an operative from the U.S. State Department. Together, they embark on a perilous journey across Europe, driven by their unwavering determination to uncover any shred of evidence that could confirm her husband’s survival.

Their quest propels them into the heart of a treacherous world of international espionage, where the line between friend and foe is blurred, and danger lurks at every turn. As Sarah and Nick navigate this shadowy landscape, they find themselves pursued by those who will stop at nothing to keep their secrets hidden. In a high-stakes race against time, they must risk their lives and their trust in others in their relentless pursuit of the truth, even if it means putting their own lives on the line.

Never Say Die is a standalone title by Tess Gerritsen. As Willy Jane Maitland delves deeper into the mystery surrounding her father’s tragic plane crash two decades ago, she finds herself drawn into an unexpected partnership with Guy Barnard, a witty and unconventional ex-army officer. Guy has specialized knowledge about the dense and mysterious Asian jungles where her father’s plane went down.

Together, Willy Jane and Guy navigate the tangled web of secrets and uncertainties that have shrouded her father’s crash. As they journey through the exotic and perilous landscapes that hold the key to the truth, their alliance grows stronger. Along the way, they must confront not only the challenges of the jungle but also the complexities of their own feelings and desires.

As the past collides with the present, Willy Jane and Guy uncover shocking revelations that will change their lives forever. Their quest for the truth becomes a dangerous adventure, testing their courage, resilience, and ultimately their bond with each other.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Tess Gerritsen Books

2 Responses to “Order of Tess Gerritsen Books”

  1. rena: 2 years ago

    did the whole R & I series really great WAITING FOR THE NEXT ONE….. COME JULY 2022


  2. Biker48: 9 years ago

    Read ‘Call After Midnight’ Nice easy read and a intriquing storyline. Ending was a little expected as through the story, one realised what the outcome would be, but still a good introduction to her books and I will be reading more.


Leave a Reply