Jeffrey Eugenides is an American author of novels and short stories. He is best known for writing The Virgin Suicides, which was later turned into a film, and Middlesex, a 2003 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction winner.

Eugenides was born in Detroit, Michigan as the youngest of three children. He went on to attend Brown University, graduating in 1982. However, he did not go straight to work and instead took a year off to travel across Europe and volunteer with Mother Teresa in Calcutta, India. He wanted to be a writer from a young age and went to Brown UNiversity primarily to study the work of John Hawkes. He published his first novel, The Virgin Suicides, in 1993. That book was made into a movie in 1999 by director Sofia Coppola and starred Kirsten Dunst, James Woods, and Kathleen Turner.

Get notified when Jeffrey Eugenides releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Virgin Suicides (1993)Description / Buy at
Middlesex (2002)Description / Buy at
The Marriage Plot (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Fresh Complaint (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Granta 54: The Best of Young American Novelists(1996)Description / Buy at
The Brown Reader(2014)Description / Buy at

If You Like Jeffrey Eugenides Books, You’ll Love…

Middlesex is a story that spans eight decades as it tells an original tale of crossed bloodlines, the intricacies of gender, and the deep, untidy promptings of desire. Calliope is a student at an all-girls school in 1974 and finds herself drawn to a classmate with the gift for acting. The girls develop a passion that leads Callie to suspect that she is not like other girls, and she’s not really a girl at all. The explanation takes us back to tiny village in Asia Minor where two lovers, and one rare genetic mutation, set in motion the metamorphosis that Callie is undergoing.

Eugenides also penned The Marriage Plot, one of the best books of 2011. The story tells of the lives of three college seniors at Brown in the early 80s: Madeleine, a romantic who is embarrassed about how normal she is; Leonard, a brilliant but temperamental student from the northwest; and Mitchell, a Religious Studies major from Detroit. The book covers the students final days of college and the first steps they make into adulthood.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Jeffrey Eugenides Books

Leave a Reply