Jonathan Franzen is an American author of literary fiction and non-fiction books. He was born near Chicago and grew up outside of St. Louis, Missouri. After graduating from Swarthmore College in 1981, he studied at the Freie Universitat in Berlin as a Fulbright scholar and later worked in a seismology lab at Harvard University’s Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences.

Jonathan Franzen made his debut as a published author in 1988 with the novel The Twenty-Seventh City. Below is a list of Jonathan Franzen’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Jonathan Franzen releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

How to Be Alone (2002)Description / Buy at
The Discomfort Zone (2006)Description / Buy at
Farther Away (2012)Description / Buy at
The Kraus Project (2013)Description / Buy at
The End of the End of the Earth (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of A Key to All Mythologies Books

Publication Order of Anthologies

Granta 54: The Best of Young American Novelists(1996)Description / Buy at
Wonderful Town(2000)Description / Buy at
The Future Dictionary of America(2004)Description / Buy at
The Best American Essays 2005(2005)Description / Buy at
The Legacy of David Foster Wallace(2012)Description / Buy at
The Best American Essays 2016(2016)Description / Buy at

If You Like Jonathan Franzen Books, You’ll Love…

Jonathan Franzen Synopses: The Twenty-Seventh City by Jonathan Franzen is the author’s debut novel. St. Louis, Missouri is a quietly dying river city until it hires a new police chief: a charismatic young woman from Bombay, India, named S. Jammu. No sooner has Jammu been installed, though, than the city’s leading citizens become embroiled in an all-pervasive political conspiracy. Set in mid-1980s, The Twenty-Seventh City predicts every unsettling shift in American life for the next two decades: suburban malaise, surveillance culture, domestic terrorism, paranoia.

Strong Motion is a standalone title by Jonathan Franzen. Louis Holland arrives in Boston in a spring of ecological upheaval (a rash of earthquakes on the North Shore) and odd luck: the first one kills his grandmother. Louis tries to maintain his independence, but falls in love with a Harvard seismologist whose discoveries about the earthquakes’ cause complicate everything.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Jonathan Franzen Books

Leave a Reply