John Winslow Irving is an American novelist of general fiction, historical fiction and political thriller novels. He is also a screenwriter, having won the Academy Award for Best Adapted Screenplay in 1999 for the screenplay The Cider House Rules. Irving tends to use common or recurring subjects in his work that include sex workers, bears, wrestling, fatal accidents, Vienna and his home region of New England.

John Irving made his debut as a published author in 1968 with Setting Free the Bears. His novels are all standalones rather than part of a series. Below is a list of John Irving’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when John Irving releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Setting Free the Bears (1968)Description / Buy at
The Water-Method Man (1972)Description / Buy at
The 158-Pound Marriage (1974)Description / Buy at
The World According to Garp (1978)Description / Buy at
The Hotel New Hampshire (1981)Description / Buy at
The Cider House Rules (1985)Description / Buy at
A Prayer for Owen Meany (1989)Description / Buy at
A Son of the Circus (1994)Description / Buy at
A Widow for One Year (1998)Description / Buy at
The Fourth Hand (2001)Description / Buy at
Until I Find You (2005)Description / Buy at
Last Night in Twisted River (2009)Description / Buy at
In One Person (2012)Description / Buy at
Avenue of Mysteries (2015)Description / Buy at
The Last Chairlift (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Trying to Save Piggy Sneed (1993)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Picture Books

A Sound Like Someone Trying Not to Make a Sound (2003)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Imaginary Girlfriend (1996)Description / Buy at
My Movie Business (1999)Description / Buy at

If You Like John Irving Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Authors » Order of John Irving Books

Leave a Reply