Jerome K. Jerome (1859-1927) was an English author and humourist. He is best known for the travelogue Three Men in a Boat. He was born in Caldmore, Walsall, England. Jerome spent some time as a stage actor, and after trying to become a journalist, essayist and short story writer, he finally found success writing about his experiences as an actor, and he would continue basing his work off his real-life experiences.

Jerome K. Jerome made his debut as an author in 1886 with The Idle Thoughts of an Idle Fellow. Below is a list of Jerome K. Jerome’s books in order of when they were first published:

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Idle Thoughts of an Idle Fellow (1886)Description / Buy at
Three Men in a Boat (1889)Description / Buy at
Three Men on the Bummel (1889)Description / Buy at
Diary of a Pilgrimage (1891)Description / Buy at
On the Stage--And Off - The Brief Career of a Would-Be-Actor (1891)Description / Buy at
Novel Notes (1893)Description / Buy at
They and I (1909)Description / Buy at
All Roads Lead to Calvary (1919)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Haunted Mill / The Ruined House (1891)Description / Buy at
The New Utopia (1891)Description / Buy at
Tea-Table Talk (1903)Description / Buy at
The Master of Mrs. Chilvers (1911)Description / Buy at
The Cost of Kindness, and Clocks (2007)Description / Buy at
The Lesson (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Collections

Told After Supper (1891)Description / Buy at
After-Supper Ghost Stories (1891)Description / Buy at
Second thoughts of an idle fellow By (1898)Description / Buy at
Evergreens & Other Short Stories (1982)Description / Buy at
The Other Jerome K. Jerome (1984)Description / Buy at
The Passing of the Third Floor Back and Other Stories (2001)Description / Buy at
Told After Supper and Other Stories and Poems of Christmas (2006)Description / Buy at
Selected Short Stories From Jerome K. Jerome (2007)Description / Buy at
On the Art of Making Up One's Mind (2008)Description / Buy at
The Angel and the Author--And Others (2011)Description / Buy at
The Works of Jerome K. Jerome (2013)Description / Buy at
Three Men in the Dark: Tales of Terror (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

My Life and Times (1926)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Found on The Shelves of The London Library Books

(with Barry Pain, CharlesSpencer, George Herschell, William Banting)

On Corpulence: Feeding the Body and Feeding the Mind (By: William Banting) (2016)Description / Buy at
Cycling: The Craze of the Hour (With: Barry Pain,CharlesSpencer,George Herschell) (2016)Description / Buy at
The Noble English Art of Self-Defence (By: Various) (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

The 5th Fontana Book of Great Ghost Stories(1969)Description / Buy at
The Seventeenth Fontana Book of Great Ghost Stories(1981)Description / Buy at
65 Great Spine Chillers(1982)Description / Buy at
Handle with Care: Frightening Stories(1985)Description / Buy at
100 Hair-Raising Little Horror Stories(1993)Description / Buy at
The Second Christmas Megapack(2012)Description / Buy at
30 Eternal Masterpieces of Humorous Stories(2019)Description / Buy at
Classic Cat Stories(2020)Description / Buy at

If You Like Jerome K. Jerome Books, You’ll Love…

Jerome K. Jerome Synopsis: My Life and Times by Jerome K. Jerome is the autobiography of the humourous author of fiction and essays. Jerome Klapka Jerome was born in Walsall, England in 1859. Both his parents died while he was a young teen, and he was forced to leave school to support himself. In 1889, Jerome published his most successful and best-remembered work, Three Men in a Boat. Featuring himself and two of his friends encountering humourous situations while floating down the Thames in a small boat, the book was an instant success, and has never been out of print. In fact, its popularity was such that the number of registered Thames boats went up fifty percent in the year following its publication.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Jerome K. Jerome Books

Leave a Reply