Jess Lourey is an American author best known for writing the acclaimed Mira James Mysteries series of books. The books are a mix of humor and suspense, and have grown quite a following among readers. The Mira James books have been well reviewed and Lourey herself has been nominated for the Agatha, Anthony, and Lefty awards.

In addition to that series, Lourey writes books in multiple genres including nonfiction, edge-of-your-seat YA adventure, magical realism, suspense novels, and thrillers. Jess is a tenured professor of creative writing and sociology and has done her one TEDx Talk. She currently lives in Minneapolis where she lives, writes, and teaches.

Get notified when Jess Lourey releases a new book at

Publication Order of Murder-By-Month Mystery Books

May Day (2006)Description / Buy at
June Bug (2007)Description / Buy at
Knee High by the Fourth of July (2007)Description / Buy at
August Moon (2008)Description / Buy at
September Fair / September Mourn (2009)Description / Buy at
October Fest (2011)Description / Buy at
November Hunt (2012)Description / Buy at
December Dread (2012)Description / Buy at
January Thaw (2014)Description / Buy at
Death by Potato Salad (2014)Description / Buy at
February Fever (2015)Description / Buy at
March of Crime (2017)Description / Buy at
April Fools (2019)Description / Buy at
Monday Is Murder (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Salem's Cipher Mystery Books

Salem's Cipher (2016)Description / Buy at
The Adventure of the First Problem (2016)Description / Buy at
Mercy's Chase (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Catalain Book of Secrets Books

(as Jessica Lourey)

Seven Daughters (2014)Description / Buy at
The Catalain Book of Secrets (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Toadhouse Trilogy (2012)Description / Buy at
Unspeakable Things (2020)Description / Buy at
Bloodline (2021)Description / Buy at
Litani (2021)Description / Buy at
Quarry Girls (2022)Description / Buy at
A Whisper of Poison (2025)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Beauty Is in the Eye of the Newt (2014)Description / Buy at
The Paper Frog (2014)Description / Buy at
Give Her a Hand (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Better Than Gin: A Coloring Book for Writers (As: Jessica Lourey, With: Tony Van Den Einde) (2016)Description / Buy at
Rewrite Your Life: Discover Your Truth Through the Healing Power of Fiction (As: Jessica Lourey) (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Claudette's Interactive Children's Books

Leave My Book Alone! (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Getaway Books

Uncharted Waters (By: Sally Hepworth) (2022)Description / Buy at
His Happy Place (By: Zakiya Dalila Harris) (2022)Description / Buy at
Belle Mer (By: Luanne Rice) (2022)Description / Buy at
Stockholm (By: Catherine Steadman) (2022)Description / Buy at
Catch Her in a Lie (2022)Description / Buy at
Shell Game (By: Rumaan Alam) (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Steinbeck and Reed Books

Publication Order of Anthologies

Resort to Murder(2007)Description / Buy at
Writes of Spring(2012)Description / Buy at
Shattering Glass(2020)Description / Buy at

If You Like Jess Lourey Books, You’ll Love…

Inspired by a true story, Unspeakable Things takes place in 1980s Minnesota in a small community. Cassie McDowell is a farm girl who loves school and is generally considered to be a good kid. Her parents have an interesting lifestyle, but she has learn to accept it. That all changes one day when a predator makes their way to Lilydale. Local boys go missing and then return different. They are violent, moody, and changed. Whatever it is that happened to them is a big source of gossip around town and accusations are flying. Cassie’s life changes when her sister becomes one of the latest to undergo the dark change. Cassie will need to grow up fast if she wants to find out the truth of what’s really going on and keep herself safe.

The first book in the Mira James series is called May Day. Mira James has a dead end job and a loser boyfriend and sees her life going nowhere. She jumps at the chance to move to rural Minnesota and start fresh. She gets off to a great start when she meets a sexy nerd named Jeff and just as the romance is heating up, Jeff turns up dead. Mira will seek to look into who this man was and why he died in the first book in this series.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Jess Lourey Books

Leave a Reply