John Langan is an American author of horror novels. He won the Bram Stoker Award for his novel The Fisherman. Langan earned his MA degree from State University of New York at New Paltz as well as his Master of Philosophy from The Graduate Center, CUNY. He teaches creative writing and gothic fiction at SUNY New Paltz, and is also an Adjunct Professor at Marist College. John lives in upstate New York with his wife, two sons, and cat.

John Langan made his debut as a published author in 2006 with the novel Search for Safety, which was part of the Bluford High multi-author series. Below is a list of John Langan’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when John Langan releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

House of Windows (2009)Description / Buy at
The Fisherman (2016)Description / Buy at
Children of the Fang and Other Genealogies (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Mr. Gaunt and Other Uneasy Encounters (2008)Description / Buy at
The Wide, Carnivorous Sky and Other Monstrous Geographies (2013)Description / Buy at
Sefira and Other Betrayals (2019)Description / Buy at
Corpsemouth and Other Autobiographies (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Graphic Novels

(with Steven Archer)

The Masque of the Red Death: Fine Art Edition (With: Steven Archer) (1842)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Bluford High Books

(by Peggy Kern, Karyn Langhorne Folan)

Search for Safety (2006)Description / Buy at
No Way Out (By: Peggy Kern,Paul Langan) (2008)Description / Buy at
Breaking Point (By: Paul Langan,Karyn Langhorne Folan) (2010)Description / Buy at
The Test (By: Peggy Kern) (2010)Description / Buy at
The Chosen (By: Paul Langan,Karyn Langhorne Folan,Gerald Purnell;Gerald Purnell) (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Classic Victorian & Edwardian Ghost Stories(1996)Description / Buy at
Fantasy: The Best of 2002(2003)Description / Buy at
Poe: 19 New Tales of Suspense, Dark Fantasy, and Horror Inspired by Edgar Allan Poe(2008)Description / Buy at
The Year's Best Dark Fantasy & Horror 2010(2009)Description / Buy at
The Best Horror of the Year: Volume Two(2010)Description / Buy at
The Best Horror of the Year: Volume Three(2011)Description / Buy at
Supernatural Noir(2011)Description / Buy at
The Book of Cthulhu(2011)Description / Buy at
Ghosts by Gaslight(2011)Description / Buy at
Creatures: Thirty Years of Monsters(2011)Description / Buy at
Best New Horror 22(2011)Description / Buy at
The Recent Weird(2011)Description / Buy at
The Best Horror of the Year: Volume Four(2012)Description / Buy at
The Best Horror of the Year Volume 4(2012)Description / Buy at
Mammoth Books presents Monsters in Our Midst(2012)Description / Buy at
Ghosts: Recent Hauntings(2012)Description / Buy at
A Season in Carcosa(2012)Description / Buy at
The Grimscribe's Puppets(2013)Description / Buy at
Lovecraft and Influence: His Predecessors and Successors(2013)Description / Buy at
Shadows Edge(2013)Description / Buy at
Chewing the Page: The Mourning Goats Interviews(2013)Description / Buy at
Fearful Symmetries(2014)Description / Buy at
The Children of Old Leech(2014)Description / Buy at
Shock Totem 9.5: Holiday Tales of the Macabre and Twisted - Halloween 2014(2014)Description / Buy at
The Starry Wisdom Library(2014)Description / Buy at
The Power of Love(2015)Description / Buy at
More Recent Weird(2015)Description / Buy at
The Best Horror of the Year: Volume Seven(2015)Description / Buy at
Aickman's Heirs(2015)Description / Buy at
Giallo Fantastique(2015)Description / Buy at
The Monstrous(2015)Description / Buy at
The Mammoth Book of Cthulhu(2016)Description / Buy at
The Best Horror of the Year: Volume Eight(2016)Description / Buy at
Swords v. Cthulhu(2016)Description / Buy at
The Madness of Dr. Caligari(2016)Description / Buy at
Best New Horror 27(2017)Description / Buy at
The Lovecraftian Poe: Essays on Influence, Reception, Interpretation, and Transformation(2017)Description / Buy at
Behold! Oddities, Curiosities and Undefinable Wonders(2017)Description / Buy at
The Beauty of Death, Vol. 2(2017)Description / Buy at
Best Horror of the Year: Volume Ten(2018)Description / Buy at
Nightmare Magazine, Issue 73(2018)Description / Buy at
Ashes and Entropy(2018)Description / Buy at
The Best Horror of the Year: Volume Eleven(2019)Description / Buy at
Spirits Unwrapped(2019)Description / Buy at
Edited By(2020)Description / Buy at
Weird World War III(2020)Description / Buy at
Weird Horror #1(2020)Description / Buy at
Oculus Sinister(2020)Description / Buy at
Best New Horror #30(2020)Description / Buy at
Under Twin Suns(2021)Description / Buy at
The Bad Book(2021)Description / Buy at
When Things Get Dark(2021)Description / Buy at
Revelations: Horror Writers for Climate Action(2022)Description / Buy at
Dark Stars: New Tales of Darkest Horror(2022)Description / Buy at
Screams from the Dark(2022)Description / Buy at
Chiral Mad 5(2022)Description / Buy at
Mother(2022)Description / Buy at
Christmas and Other Horrors(2023)Description / Buy at
The Best Horror of the Year, Volume Fifteen(2024)Description / Buy at

Notes: The collection Ashes and Entropy also has stories by other authors. The anthology Creatures was edited with Paul Tremblay.

If You Like John Lagan Books, You’ll Love…

John Langan Synopsis: House of Windows is a standalone novel by John Langan. When a young writer finds himself cornered by a beautiful widow in the waning hours of a late-night cocktail party, he seeks at first to escape, to get back to his wife and infant son. But the tale she weaves, of her missing husband, a renowned English professor, and her lost stepson, a soldier killed on a battlefield on the other side of the world, and of phantasmal visions, a family curse, and a house – the Belvedere House, a striking mansion whose features suggest a face hidden just out of view – draws him in, capturing him. What follows is a deeply psychological ghost story of memory and malediction, loss and remorse.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of John Langan Books

Leave a Reply