Josh Lacey
Josh Lacey is an English author of children’s books. He writes the Dragonsitter series as well as the Grk series (as Joshua Doder). Josh was born in London and has lived there for almost all of his life. He spent his childhood reading, and that continued into adulthood. Josh has worked as a journalist, a screenwriter, a teacher, a chef, a librarian and an actor. He collects Japanese pottery and enjoys mountain climbing.

Josh Lacey made his debut as a published author in 2004 with the non-fiction book The Timetraveller’s Guide to Saxon and Viking London (written as Joshua Doder). His first novel was A Dog Called Grk, published in 2005. His debut writing as Josh Lacey was in 2005 with the non-fiction book for adults God is Brazilian. Finally, his fiction debut as Lacey was Bearkeeper in 2008. Below is a list of Josh Lacey’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Josh Lacey releases a new book at

Publication Order of Grk Books

(as Joshua Doder)

A Dog Called Grk (2005)Description / Buy at
Grk and the Pelotti Gang (2006)Description / Buy at
Grk and the Hot Dog Trail (2006)Description / Buy at
Grk Operation Tortoise (2007)Description / Buy at
Grk Smells a Rat (2008)Description / Buy at
Grk Takes Revenge (2009)Description / Buy at
Grk Down Under (2010)Description / Buy at
Grk and the Phoney Macaroni (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Hope Jones Books

Hope Jones Saves The World (2020)Description / Buy at
Hope Jones Clears the Air (2021)Description / Buy at
Hope Jones Will Not Eat Meat (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Misfitz Mysteries Books

The One That Got Away (2009)Description / Buy at
Two Tigers on a String (2009)Description / Buy at
Three Diamonds and a Donkey (2010)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Tom Trelawney Books

Island of Thieves (2011)Description / Buy at
The Sultan's Tigers (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Dragonsitter Books

The Dragonsitter (2012)Description / Buy at
The Dragonsitter Takes Off (2013)Description / Buy at
The Dragonsitter's Castle (2013)Description / Buy at
The Dragonsitter's Island (2014)Description / Buy at
The Dragonsitter's Party (2015)Description / Buy at
The Dragonsitter to the Rescue (2016)Description / Buy at
Trick or Treat? (2017)Description / Buy at
The Dragonsitter Detective (2017)Description / Buy at
The Dragonsitter's Surprise (2018)Description / Buy at
The Dragonsitter in the Land of the Dragons (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Chapter Books

The Mystery of the Poisoned Pudding (2011)Description / Buy at
The Mystery of the Missing Finger (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Timetraveller's Guide to Saxon and Viking London (As: Joshua Doder) (2004)Description / Buy at
The Timetraveller's Guide to Shakespeare's London (As: Joshua Doder) (2004)Description / Buy at
God Is Brazilian (2005)Description / Buy at
The Duke of Wellington (As: Joshua Doder) (2006)Description / Buy at
Death Becomes No Stranger (2008)Description / Buy at

Notes: The Grk series as well as the non-fiction books The Timetraveller’s Guide to Saxon and Viking London, The Timetraveller’s Guide to Shakespeare’s London and The Duke of Wellington were written as Joshua Doder.

If You Like Josh Lacey Books, You’ll Love…

Josh Lacey Synopsis: Bearkeeper is a standalone novel by Josh Lacey. A fearless boy with a fierce friend Pip is a blacksmith’s apprentice – but he dreams of becoming a famous knife-fighter like his dead father. All by himself in London, he meets great danger… and two odd allies. One is hairy and hungry. The other is William Shakespeare. Pip’s extraordinary adventures have begun.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Josh Lacey Books

Leave a Reply