Joy Jordan-Lake is a best-selling author known for books like Under a Gilded Moon and A Tangled Mercy. She was the winner of the 2009 Christy Award for Best First Novel for her book, Blue Hole Back Home.

Jordan-Lake holds a PhD in English Literature. She now makes her home outside of Nashville, Tennessee where she lives with her husband and children.

Get notified when Joy Jordan-Lake releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Blue Hole Back Home (2008)Description / Buy at
A Tangled Mercy (2017)Description / Buy at
Under a Gilded Moon (2020)Description / Buy at
A Bend of Light (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Children's Books

A Crazy-Much Love (2019)Description / Buy at
Sir Drake the Brave (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Grit and Grace (2000)Description / Buy at
Whitewashing Uncle Tom's Cabin (2005)Description / Buy at
Why Jesus Makes Me Nervous (2007)Description / Buy at
Working Families (2007)Description / Buy at

If You Like Joy Jordan-Lake Books, You’ll Love…

Under a Gilded Moon takes place at Biltmore House, a palatial mansion that is being built by the Vanderbilts. The estate is now in its final stages of building and there is just one parcel of land that the Vanderbilts need to complete the property. That property is Kerry MacGregor’s family home and she has just returned home after two years in New York. Kerry returns to find more trouble than that as the land brings more outsiders including a debutante caught in a scandal, a fugitive from Sicily, and a reporter chasing a story. Kerry finds herself caught in a war between wealthy and poverty as she seeks to navigate her own desperation to survive against the temptations of the wealthy.

Jordan-Lake is also the author of A Tangled Mercy. This book sees a struggling grad student walk out of Harvard after the death of her troubled mother. She ends up fleeing to South Carolina to the place where her parents where she hopes to understand what happened with her family as well as save her career in academia as she has plans to unearth information on a failed slave revolt in 1822. As Kate tries to discover what made her mother so obsessed with Charleston’s history, a horrific massacre takes place at the landmark church that dashes all her plans. This allows Kate to discover a family she never knew existed in the town as the city unites itself.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Joy Jordan-Lake Books

Leave a Reply