Karl Marlantes is an American author of fiction and non-fiction books. Marlantes, a distinguished alum of Yale University and a Rhodes Scholar at Oxford University, has a remarkable background as a former Marine who served in Vietnam. His courageous service in the military earned him prestigious accolades, including the Navy Cross, the Bronze Star, two Navy Commendation Medals for valour, two Purple Hearts, and an impressive ten air medals.

Karl Marlantes made his debut as an author in 2009 with Matterhorn. Below is a list of Karl Marlantes’ books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Karl Marlantes releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

What It is Like to Go to War (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Karl Marlantes Books, You’ll Love…

Karl Marlantes Synopses: Matterhorn by Karl Marlantes follows young Marine lieutenant Waino Mellas and his comrades in Bravo Company as they are thrust into the mountain jungles of Vietnam, forced to navigate not only the challenges of the harsh environment but also the complexities of human relationships. Faced with North Vietnamese forces, monsoons, mud, leeches, tigers, disease, and internal conflicts such as racial tension and competing ambitions, the Marines must confront the raw and all-consuming terror of combat when surrounded by a massive enemy regiment. The novel explores the transformative impact of war on these young soldiers, leaving an indelible mark on their lives.

Deep River by Karl Marlantes is set in the early 1900s, portraying the lives of the three Koski siblings—Ilmari, Matti, and Aino—as they escape Russia’s imperial oppression and settle among other Finns in a logging community in southern Washington. Against the backdrop of the Columbia River and the colossal old-growth forests, the siblings navigate the challenges of pioneering in a frontier wilderness, with the brothers working in logging and Aino passionately organizing the industry’s first unions. The novel is rich with historical detail, capturing the essence of the sun-dappled forest and the profound changes brought by the first waves of modernity. As the Koski siblings strive to rebuild their lives in America, the story delves into the complexities of identity and the immigrant experience in a nation still shaping its own destiny.

Set in Helsinki, 1947, against the backdrop of a Finland caught between the Soviet Union and the West, Cold Victory revolves around the intertwined lives of Natalya Bobrova and Louise Koski. Natalya and Louise, wives of military attachés Arnie and Mikhail, find their worlds colliding when their husbands drunkenly challenge each other to a secret cross-country wilderness race. However, Natalya, aware of the ruthless rule of Stalin and Beria’s secret police, fears the consequences if news of the race leaks. As Louise, unaware of the danger, uses the race to raise money for an orphanage, the story unfolds into a gripping narrative of freedom versus communism, with global implications. With the race gaining international attention, Louise realizes the perilous situation and desperately tries to save Natalya’s family from the unintended consequences of her actions. The novel weaves a tale of suspense, sacrifice, and the unforeseen impact of seemingly innocent choices in a politically charged era.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Karl Marlantes Books

Leave a Reply