Kendare Blake is an American author of young adult novels including the Goddess Wars series and the Three Dark Crowns series of books. She writes her books in a variety of different genres unlcuding fantasy, horror, and contemporary fiction, and she has multiple books listed on the New York Times’ bestsellers list.

Kendare Blake was originally from Seoul, South Korea, but she ended up being adopted and moving to Cambridge, Minnesota. She grew up to go to Ithaca College in New York and Middlesex University in London where she received her Master of the Arts Degree in Creative Writing. Anna Dressed in Blood was named on of the Best Teen Books of the Year by Kirkus.

Get notified when Kendare Blake releases a new book at

Publication Order of Anna Books

Anna Dressed in Blood (2011)Description / Buy at
Girl of Nightmares (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Buffy: The Next Generation Books

In Every Generation (2022)Description / Buy at
One Girl in All the World (2023)Description / Buy at
Against the Darkness (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Goddess War Books

Antigoddess (2013)Description / Buy at
When Gods and Vampires Roamed Miami (2014)Description / Buy at
Mortal Gods (2014)Description / Buy at
The Dogs of Athens (2015)Description / Buy at
Ungodly (2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Heromaker Books

Champion of Fate (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Three Dark Crowns Books

Three Dark Crowns (2016)Description / Buy at
One Dark Throne (2017)Description / Buy at
The Young Queens (2017)Description / Buy at
Queens of Fennbirn (2018)Description / Buy at
The Oracle Queen (2018)Description / Buy at
Two Dark Reigns (2018)Description / Buy at
Five Dark Fates (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Sleepwalk Society (2010)Description / Buy at
All These Bodies (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Slasher Girls & Monster Boys(2015)Description / Buy at
Violent Ends(2015)Description / Buy at
Scary Out There(2016)Description / Buy at
Eternally Yours(2022)Description / Buy at

If You Like Kendare Blake Books, You’ll Love…

Three Dark Crowns is the first book in the series of the same name. The book introduces to the island of Fennbirn where a set of triplets is born in every generation. Three girls who would be queen, all equal heirs to the crown and each with their own unique magical ability. There is Mirabella who is a fierce elemental, Katharine the poisoner, and Arsinoe who has the powers of a naturalist. When these girls turn 16, the battle begins as there is only one queen in this kingdom and the sisters will need to fight to get it.

Another popular book by Blake is Anna Dressed in Blood. The book follows Cas Lowood who has the unusual vocation of killing the dead. He inherited the job from his father and he travels the country with his kitchen-witch mother and their spirit-sniffing cat. The group arrives in a new town in search of a ghost called Anna Dressed in Blood. She is the toughest ghost that he has ever faced and she has killed everyone person who has dared step into her former home. Which is what makes it even weirder when she spares Cas’s life.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Kendare Blake Books

Leave a Reply