L.R. Wright was a Canadian author who writes in the mystery genre. She is best known for writing the long-running Karl Alberg series of books. She was also the author of the Edwina Henderson Mystery series as well as several standalone novels.

Wright attended the University of Calgary before heading to UBC and Simon Fraser University where she earned her Master of Arts in Liberal Studies. Wright worked as a journalist for much of her career with stings in advertising and acting before turning to writing full-time. Her book, The Suspect, won the 1986 Edgar Award for Best Novel. She is also the recipient of the Arthur Ellis Award.

Publication Order of Karl Alberg Books

The Suspect (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Sleep While I Sing (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Chill Rain In January (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Fall from Grace (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Prized Possessions (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Touch of Panic (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Mother Love (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Strangers Among Us (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Acts of Murder (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Edwina Henderson Mystery Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Neighbours (1979)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Favorite (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Among Friends (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Love in the Temperate Zone (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like L.R. Wright Books, You’ll Love…

The Suspect is the first book in the Karl Alberg series and introduces us to RCMP Staff Sergeant Karl Alberg. The story begins when an 80-year-old man named George Wilcox who has just committed a murder. It happened quickly and unexpectedly, and now Wilcox is haunted by guilt, honor, and secrets from the past. Wilcox finds a connection with the town’s librarian and her love interest, Karl Alberg. With Wilcox, the couple end up caught in a crime with a solution that goes beyond justice.

Edwina “Eddie” Henderson is the star of Wright’s Kidnapped. The book is less concerned with whodunit and more concerned with the why. The story begins when a young girl is taken from her aunt’s care. The girl’s mother has just died suddenly and her father is in Hawaii trying to recover. The girl is staying with her aunt when a middle-aged woman tries to assuage her feelings with a desperate act of revenge. It’s up to Eddie to try and put together the pieces of the this psychological puzzle if they are to have any hope of finding the missing girl.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of L.R. Wright Books

Leave a Reply