Ann Cleeves (Photo Credit: © Ph Matsas / Opale)
Ann Cleeves is a British author of crime fiction, mystery and thriller novels. Ann worked a number of jobs, including working as a child care officer, women’s refuge leader, bird observatory cook and auxiliary coastguard and then went back to college to become a probation officer. Her first series that she wrote featured elderly naturalist George Palmer-Jones – a couple of which Ann admits are “seriously dreadful.” Since then, she has written the Inspector Ramsay, Vera Stanhope and Shetland Island series.

Ann Cleeves made her debut as a published novelist in 1986 with A Bird in the Hand. Below is a list of Ann Cleeves’ books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Ann Cleeves releases a new book at

Publication Order of Palmer-Jones Books

A Bird in the Hand (1986)Description / Buy at
Come Death And High Water (1988)Description / Buy at
Murder In Paradise (1988)Description / Buy at
A Prey To Murder (1989)Description / Buy at
Another Man's Poison (1992)Description / Buy at
Sea Fever (1993)Description / Buy at
The Mill On The Shore (1994)Description / Buy at
High Island Blues (1996)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Inspector Ramsay Books

A Lesson In Dying (1990)Description / Buy at
Murder In My Backyard (1991)Description / Buy at
A Day in the Death of Dorothea Cassidy (1992)Description / Buy at
Killjoy (1993)Description / Buy at
The Healers (1995)Description / Buy at
The Baby Snatcher (1997)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Vera Stanhope Books

The Crow Trap (1999)Description / Buy at
Telling Tales (2005)Description / Buy at
Hidden Depths (2007)Description / Buy at
Silent Voices (2010)Description / Buy at
The Glass Room (2012)Description / Buy at
Harbour Street (2014)Description / Buy at
The Moth Catcher (2015)Description / Buy at
The Seagull (2017)Description / Buy at
Frozen (2020)Description / Buy at
The Darkest Evening (2020)Description / Buy at
The Woman on the Island (2022)Description / Buy at
The Rising Tide (2022)Description / Buy at
The Dark Wives (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Shetland Island Books

Publication Order of Shetland Island Non-Fiction Books

Publication Order of Two Rivers Books

The Long Call (2019)Description / Buy at
The Heron's Cry (2021)Description / Buy at
The Girls on the Shore (2022)Description / Buy at
The Raging Storm (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Sleeping and the Dead (2001)Description / Buy at
Burial of Ghosts (2003)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Dreaming of Rain and Peter Lovesey (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Collections

Publication Order of Anthologies

Best Eaten Cold and Other Stories: A Murder Squad Anthology(2011)Description / Buy at
The Library Book(2012)Description / Buy at
Deadly Pleasures(2013)Description / Buy at
The Starlings & Other Stories(2015)Description / Buy at
Crime Writers: A Decade of Crime(2016)Description / Buy at
CWA Anthology of Short Stories: Mystery Tour(2017)Description / Buy at
Ten Year Stretch(2018)Description / Buy at
Bloody Scotland(2019)Description / Buy at
Many Deadly Returns(2021)Description / Buy at
An Unnecessary Assassin(2023)Description / Buy at
Killin’ Time in San Diego: Bouchercon Anthology 2023(2023)Description / Buy at

Notes: Crime Writers: A Decade of Crime also has stories by Mark Billingham, Harlan Coben, P.D. James, Val McDermid and Steve Mosby. Bloody Scotland also includes stories by Lin Anderson, Chris Brookmyre, Doug Johnstone, Stuart MacBride, Val McDermid, Peter May, Denise Mina, Craig Robertson and Sara Sheridan.

If You Like Ann Cleeves Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Ann Cleeves Books

5 Responses to “Order of Ann Cleeves Books”

  1. Daniel Hennessy: 1 year ago

    I’m just finishing the Shetland series of books, have watched the television series and love both… even the show can be quite different. It’s the setting and mood and tone… I’m just grateful for Ann Cleeves as an author and look forward to reading more, if not all, of her books.


  2. laraine: 2 years ago

    I love all of Ann Cleeves book but I especially love the Two Rivers Series


  3. Steve: 3 years ago

    I am a big Ann Cleeves fan and have read many of her Vera & Shetland books which are very good – the lead characters are very likeable characters. My wife & I have also watched all of the Vera & Shetland TV Series which we really enjoyed.


  4. kaystar: 9 years ago

    Just saw one of the Shetland movies last night and now I am an Ann Cleeve fan!


  5. Mongoose218: 9 years ago

    I love the Shetland Islands series…..haven’t yet read any of her others, but she is very good….mystery mixed in with a very different way of life, and NOT “cozy”!!!


Leave a Reply