Peter May
Peter May is a Scottish author of crime fiction, mystery and thriller novels, in addition to writing television and being a former journalist. Growing up in Glasgow, Peter’s goal was to become a novelist from an early age. Before he was able to achieve that goal, he became a journalist in order to pay the bills. He won Scotland’s Young Journalist of the Year Award when he was 21 and wrote for The Scotsman and the Glasgow Evening Times. He left journalism in 1978 in order to write television and created several TV shows for the BBC and for Scottish television. As a novelist, he writes the China Thrillers and Enzo Files series.

Peter’s first novel was The Reporter, which he adapted to television for the BBC as The Standard. Below is a list of Peter May’s novels in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Peter May releases a new book at

Publication Order of The China Thrillers Books

The Firemaker (1999)Description / Buy at
The Fourth Sacrifice (2000)Description / Buy at
The Killing Room (2000)Description / Buy at
Snakehead (2002)Description / Buy at
The Runner (2003)Description / Buy at
Chinese Whispers (2004)Description / Buy at
The Ghost Marriage (2010)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Enzo Files Books

Extraordinary People / Dry Bones (2006)Description / Buy at
The Critic / A Vintage Corpse (2007)Description / Buy at
Blacklight Blue (2008)Description / Buy at
Freeze Frame (2010)Description / Buy at
Blowback (2010)Description / Buy at
Cast Iron (2017)Description / Buy at
The Night Gate (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Lewis Trilogy Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Reporter (1978)Description / Buy at
Fallen Hero (1979)Description / Buy at
The Man with No Face / Hidden Faces (1981)Description / Buy at
The Noble Path (1992)Description / Buy at
Virtually Dead (2010)Description / Buy at
Entry Island (2013)Description / Buy at
Runaway (2015)Description / Buy at
Coffin Road (2016)Description / Buy at
I'll Keep You Safe (2018)Description / Buy at
A Silent Death (2020)Description / Buy at
Lockdown (2020)Description / Buy at
A Winter Grave (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Notes: Extraordinary People was also published as Dry Bones. The Critic is also known as A Vintage Corpse. Hidden Faces was also published under the title The Man With No Face.

If You Like Peter May Books, You’ll Love…

Peter May Synopses: In Peter May’s standalone novel The Noble Path, a wealthy refugee from Cambodia requests help from a suicidal British soldier Jack Elliot in order to rescue his wife and children from Khmer Rouge. Elliot accepts the task on the hopes that he will be killed in the midst of the mission.

The Blackhouse is the first novel in Peter May’s Lewis Trilogy – a mystery series set on the Isle of Lewis in Scotland. A murder occurs on the island that resembles a murder on the mainland, so Edinburgh investigator Fin Macleod wants to know if the two are actually connected. Fin is from the island himself, so this is his return after almost two decades, and it also digs up some bad memories of his past.

Second in May’s Lewis Trilogy is The Lewis Man. Fin finds a body which comes up as a DNA sibling match to Tormod Macdonald, an old man with dementia. However, Macdonald had always believed he was an only child. The Macdonald family looks to Fin Macleod for help in finding out the truth.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Peter May Books

One Response to “Order of Peter May Books”

  1. Marion Whistance: 4 years ago

    I am surprised that you do not mention Ann Cleeves in your list of favourite authors. We have a hard time getting her novels from our local library as they are always out on loan. She writes wonderful stories about northern England and Scotland several of which have been made into TV series.
    yes, I have an ax to grind. To you selfish people who have needlessly stripped the shelves in our grocery stores with not a thought to the needs of others. Maybe while you are quarantined at home you can do a little research into this pandemic. Panic stations are NOT required.


Leave a Reply