Robert Crais is an American novelist who specializes in detective fiction and thrillers. He started out writing scripts for detective shows such as Miami Vice and L.A. Law. His influences include such novelists as Raymond Chandler, Ernest Hemingway and Robert B. Parker. He is best known for his Elvis Cole/Joe Pike series.

Crais’ debut in the world of fiction was The Monkey’s Raincoat in 1987 – the first of the Elvis Cole series. Aside from the Cole/Pike series, he has also written three standalone novels. One of which, Hostage, was adapted into a Bruce Willis film of the same name. Crais refuses to sell the rights to Cole and Pike, however.

Below is a list of all of Robert Crais’ published works in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Robert Crais releases a new book at

Publication Order of Elvis Cole & Joe Pike Books

Publication Order of Scott James & Maggie Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Demolition Angel (2000)Description / Buy at
Hostage (2001)Description / Buy at
The Two Minute Rule (2006)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Man Who Knew Dick Bong (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Mysterious Profiles Books

Elvis Cole and Joe Pike (2022)Description / Buy at
Jack Taylor (By: Ken Bruen) (2022)Description / Buy at
Jack Reacher (By: Lee Child) (2022)Description / Buy at
Charlie Parker (By: John Connolly) (2022)Description / Buy at
Hieronymus Bosch (By: Michael Connelly) (2022)Description / Buy at
Lincoln Rhyme (By: Jeffery Deaver) (2022)Description / Buy at
Alex Delaware (By: Jonathan Kellerman) (2022)Description / Buy at
Tess Monaghan (By: Laura Lippman) (2022)Description / Buy at
Charlie Resnick (By: John Harvey) (2022)Description / Buy at
Peter Decker and Rina Lazarus (By: Faye Kellerman) (2022)Description / Buy at
Inspector Morse (By: Colin Dexter) (2022)Description / Buy at
Dismas Hardy (By: John Lescroart) (2022)Description / Buy at
Bob Lee Swagger (By: Stephen Hunter) (2022)Description / Buy at
Aloysius X. L. Pendergast (By: Douglas Preston) (2022)Description / Buy at
Lou Boldt (By: Ridley Pearson) (2022)Description / Buy at
Spenser (By: Robert B. Parker) (2022)Description / Buy at
Charlotte and Thomas Pitt (By: Anne Perry) (2022)Description / Buy at
John Rebus (By: Ian Rankin) (2022)Description / Buy at
Mallory (By: Carol O'Connell) (2022)Description / Buy at
Jane Whitefield (By: Thomas Perry) (2022)Description / Buy at
Ian Rutledge: A Mysterious Profile (By: Charles Todd) (2022)Description / Buy at
Amos Walker (By: Loren D. Estleman) (2022)Description / Buy at
Precious Ramotswe (By: Alexander McCall Smith) (2022)Description / Buy at
Maisie Dobbs (By: Jacqueline Winspear) (2022)Description / Buy at
The Lincoln Lawyer (By: Michael Connelly) (2022)Description / Buy at
Ben Kincaid (By: William Bernhardt) (2023)Description / Buy at
Repairman Jack (By: F. Paul Wilson) (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Raymond Chandler's Philip Marlowe(2011)Description / Buy at
The Best American Mystery Stories 2012(2012)Description / Buy at
Crimespree Magazine #61(2015)Description / Buy at

If You Like Robert Crais Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Robert Crais Books

13 Responses to “Order of Robert Crais Books”

  1. Gary Mills: 6 months ago

    I have read all but 3 of his books. The only thing I DO NOT like is his Using the WORD GD. I can count over 50 plus times he will write it into his book. He does not use any other cuse words but this one. I love his work but I will have to RETHINK reading anymore of his books.


  2. Hank Petroski: 3 years ago

    I read that you are coming out with a new book, still untitled, on 2/17/22. is there now a name for the book and is it on schedule to meet 2/17/22?


    • Graeme: 3 years ago

      There doesn’t appear to be any news on the title or publication date yet.


  3. Ron: 3 years ago

    Read 7 of your books. Bought rest so I can read in order. Comparable to Harlan Coben. Keep ’em coming.


  4. Commenter: 5 years ago

    I just re-read all the novels, in anticipation of the next in the series, due in 2 months. My favorites are “Taken” and the stand alone “Suspect”.


  5. Veronica: 7 years ago

    I love the Elvis Cole series. They make me laugh and sometimes they make me cry.


  6. CADFAEL: 9 years ago

    I just read Suspect and absolutely loved it.


  7. Mark: 9 years ago

    Suggestion: Add “Suspect” to the Stand-alone novels


  8. jimney: 10 years ago

    His books are excellent! I especially like the Pike Novels!


  9. Mongoose218: 10 years ago

    I agree with Cathy, they do best read in order! They get better and better!!


  10. Cathy: 10 years ago

    I started with “The Monkey’s Raincoat” and recommend readers read them in the order of publication and as RCrais wrote them. I saw where Elvis who is such a great character, developed and even changed. n an interview RC said that he consciously changed his personality by toning him down. But it’s my feeling that they should be read in order. Regardless of the order, they move fast with a great storyline and pace, so read them all.


  11. David Winfrey: 10 years ago

    I recommend reading “The Watchman” which is the first Joe Pike novel, then read “The Monkey’s Raincoat” and read them in order. Skip the second book, “Stalking the Angel”. My favorite books are “The First Rule” and “the Watchman”, the pace is fast, all of Robert Crais books are like a great summer movie in a book. Action packed !


  12. ERA: 11 years ago



Leave a Reply