Chris Brookmyre
Christopher Brookmyre is a Scottish novelist of crime fiction novels, which have been branded Tartan Noir. He writes the Jack Parlabane series. Brookmyre mixes comedy with politics, social commentary and action, in addition to having a strong narrative to his stories.

Christopher Brookmyre’s first novel was Quite Ugly One Morning, which was published in 1996. He won the Critics’ First Blood Award in 1996 for Best First Crime Novel for his novel Quite Ugly One Morning, the Sherlock Award for Best Comic Detective in 2000 for Boiling a Frog and the Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Prize for Comic Fiction in 2006 for his novel All Fun And Games Until Someone Loses an Eye. Below is a list of Christopher Brookmyre’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Christopher Brookmyre releases a new book at

Publication Order of Jack Parlabane Books

Quite Ugly One Morning (1996)Description / Buy at
Country of the Blind (1997)Description / Buy at
Boiling a Frog (2000)Description / Buy at
Be My Enemy (2004)Description / Buy at
Attack Of The Unsinkable Rubber Ducks (2007)Description / Buy at
The Last Day of Christmas (2014)Description / Buy at
Dead Girl Walking (2015)Description / Buy at
Black Widow (2016)Description / Buy at
Want You Gone / The Last Hack (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Angelique De Xavier Books

A Big Boy Did It and Ran Away (2001)Description / Buy at
The Sacred Art of Stealing (2002)Description / Buy at
A Snowball in Hell (2008)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Jasmine Sharp Investigations Books

Where the Bodies Are Buried (2011)Description / Buy at
When the Devil Drives (2012)Description / Buy at
Flesh Wounds/Bred in the Bone (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Not the End of the World (1998)Description / Buy at
One Fine Day in the Middle of the Night (1999)Description / Buy at
All Fun And Games Until Somebody Loses An Eye (2005)Description / Buy at
A Tale Etched In Blood And Hard Black Pencil (2006)Description / Buy at
Pandaemonium (2009)Description / Buy at
Bedlam (2013)Description / Buy at
Places in the Darkness (2017)Description / Buy at
Fallen Angel (2019)Description / Buy at
The Cut (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Last Siege of Bothwell Castle (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Jaggy Splinters (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Crimespotting(2009)Description / Buy at
The Mammoth Book of Best British Crime 8(2011)Description / Buy at
Bloody Scotland(2019)Description / Buy at

Notes: Crimespotting also contains stories by Lin Anderson, Kate Atkinson, Margaret Atwood, John Burnside, Isla Dewar, A.L. Kennedy, Denise Mina, Ian Rankin and James Robertson. The novel Flesh Wounds was also published as Bred in the Bone. Want You Gone was also published as The Last Hack.

If You Like Christopher Brookmyre Books, You’ll Love…

Christopher Brookmyre Synopses: In One Fine Day in the Middle of the Night by Christopher Brookmyre, Gavin Huchinson has planned to make a “holiday floating experience” out of a converted oil rig, but after his wife leaves him and he meets up with a gang of mercenaries, the experience doesn’t turn out so great.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Christopher Brookmyre Books

Leave a Reply