Stuart MacBride is a Scottish novelist of crime thriller novels largely set in Aberdeen. Although he has written some standalone novels, his main character is Logan McRae. He has set one of his novels (Halfhead) in the future, leading some to consider him delving into the science fiction genre, to which he says, “crime fiction set in Victorian times is historic crime fiction, crime fiction set in the 21st Century is crime fiction, however set it 60 years in the future and it’s bloody sci-fi!”

Stuart MacBride started his writing career in 2005 with Cold Granite, referring to the “Granite City” of Aberdeen, Scotland. Below is a list of Stuart MacBride’s published novels in order of when they were originally released (also chronological order):

Get notified when Stuart MacBride releases a new book at

Publication Order of Logan McRae Books

Cold Granite (2005)Description / Buy at
Dying Light (2006)Description / Buy at
Bloodshot / Broken Skin (2007)Description / Buy at
Flesh House (2008)Description / Buy at
Blind Eye (2009)Description / Buy at
Dark Blood (2010)Description / Buy at
Shatter The Bones (2011)Description / Buy at
Close to the Bone (2012)Description / Buy at
The Missing and the Dead (2014)Description / Buy at
In the Cold Dark Ground (2016)Description / Buy at
The Blood Road (2018)Description / Buy at
All That’s Dead (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Logan McRae Short Story Collections

Partners in Crime (2012)Description / Buy at
The 45% Hangover (2014)Description / Buy at
22 Dead Little Bodies and Other Stories (2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Ash Henderson Books

Birthdays for the Dead (2012)Description / Buy at
A Song for the Dying (2013)Description / Buy at
The Coffinmaker’s Garden (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Halfhead (2009)Description / Buy at
A Dark So Deadly (2017)Description / Buy at
Now We Are Dead (2017)Description / Buy at
No Less The Devil (2022)Description / Buy at
The Dead of Winter (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Collections

Twelve Days of Winter (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Picture Books

The Completely Wholesome Adventures of Skeleton Bob (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Uncage Me(2009)Description / Buy at
The Mammoth Book of Best British Crime 8(2011)Description / Buy at
The Killer Cookbook(2012)Description / Buy at
Dark Duets(2014)Description / Buy at
Bloody Scotland(2019)Description / Buy at

Note: Bloodshot was also published as Broken Skin.

If You Like Stuart MacBride Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Stuart MacBride Books

2 Responses to “Order of Stuart MacBride Books”

  1. dieseldoc: 9 years ago

    thanx for that info…was trying to find bloodshot


  2. Brenda Kincaid: 9 years ago

    The third book listed in the Logan McRae series as Bloodshot on here is listed on Amazon as Broken Skin.


Leave a Reply