Leisha Kelly was an American historical fiction author best known for writing The Wortham Family series and the Country Road Chronicles series.

Kelly served for many years on her local library board. She was also active in her church’s ministries, serving as children’s ministry director and youth minister. Leisha passed away in 2011 when she was in a traffic incident.

Publication Order of Country Road Chronicles / Wortham Family Books

Julia's Hope (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Emma's Gift (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Katie's Dream (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Rorey's Secret (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Rachel's Prayer (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Till Morning Is Nigh (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Sarah's Promise (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Tahn Books

(as L.A. Kelly)

Tahn (As:L.A. Kelly) (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Return to Alastair (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Scarlet Trefoil (As:L.A. Kelly) (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The House on Malcolm Street (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Leisha Kelly Books, You’ll Love…

Julia’s Hope was the first book in the Wortham Family series. The story begins in 1931 as Samuel Wortham has lost his job like so many others of that time. Not only that, but he’s also lost his wife’s inheritance, their home, and the self respect that he has left. Samuel, his wife and children decide to hitchhike from Pennsylvania to Illinois in hopes of finding work. When they are caught in a storm, they find shelter in an abandoned farmhouse. Samuel’s wife Julia feels at home and sets out to find the owner of the property in hopes of staying there. She finds Emma Graham, a woman in her eighties who wants a home but can no longer live alone. Emma makes a deal with the Worthams for them to live together and restore the farm. As they try to rebuild the home, Emma teaches the Worthams to live fully, give generously, and love unconditionally.

Rorey’s Secret is the first book in the Country Road Chronicles. The Worthams and Hammonds are two close families living on Illinois farms in the Depression-era. A fire breaks out that threatens to destroy the Hammond farm and it affects both families. How did the fire start? A few of the kids know, but they won’t talk. The families now try to overcome the loss by clinging to their trust in God.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Leisha Kelly Books

Leave a Reply