Lesley Thomson is a British novelist best known for writing the Detective’s Daughter series of books. She made her debut as an author in 1987 with the release of Seven Miles to Sydney.

Thomson grew up in London where she attended Holland Park Comprehensive School and then went to Brighton and Sussex for university. She won The People’s Book Prize in 2010 for A Kind of Vanishing. In addition to her work as an author, Lesley also tutors creative writing at West Dean College.

Get notified when Lesley Thomson releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of The Detective's Daughter Books

The Detective's Daughter (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Ghost Girl (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Detective's Secret (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Runaway (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The House With No Rooms (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Dog Walker (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Death Chamber (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Playground Murders (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Hollow House / The Distant Dead (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Mystery of Yew Tree House (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Seven Miles From Sydney (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Kind of Vanishing (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Death of a Mermaid (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Companion (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Lesley Thomson Books, You’ll Love…

The Detective’s Daughter is the first book in the series of the same name. The nation was shocked by the murder of a young mother named Kate Rokesmith three decades ago. The mother walked to the banks of the Thames with her son and never came home. Now, thirty years later, the case is still unsolved and the detective on the case is long retired and recently deceased. While Stella is cleaning out her late father’s house, she finds the case file among his things and decides to begin her own investigation. She becomes determined to solve the case that her father never could.

Death of a Mermaid is a standalone novel from Thomson. Freddy Power was thrown out her home by her father when she was eighteen because she fell in love with another woman. She would wait two decades for her family to invite her back, but that invite never came. After her parents’ death, Freddy returns home. She arrives home after twenty-two years and everyone treats her like a stranger, even her brothers and friends. Then Mags goes missing and old secrets are brought back to the surface. Freddy wants to lead the search for Mags, even it means facing the truth about her family.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Lesley Thomson Books

Leave a Reply