Libby Fischer Hellmann is an American crime writer best known for writing the Ellie Foreman Mysteries series, the Georgia Davis Mysteries series, and numerous standalone novels and short stories.

Libby worked in television news in New York before relocating to Washington, DC. In Washington, she joined National Public Affairs Center for Television and worked on numerous broadcasts including the rebroadcast of the Watergate hearings. She eventually went on to found her own company, Fischer Hellmann Communications in 1985. Her first novel, An Eye for Murder, was published in 2002.

Get notified when Libby Fischer Hellmann releases a new book at

Publication Order of Ellie Foreman Books

The Day Miriam Hirsch Disappeared (1999)Description / Buy at
An Eye for Murder (2002)Description / Buy at
A Picture of Guilt (2003)Description / Buy at
An Image of Death (2004)Description / Buy at
A Shot to Die for (2005)Description / Buy at
Jump Cut (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Georgia Davis Books

Publication Order of High-Tech Crime Solvers Books

Virtually Lace (By: Uvi Poznansky) (2018)Description / Buy at
Virtually Undead (By: Robert I. Katz) (2020)Description / Buy at
Virtually Harmless (By: P.D. Workman) (2020)Description / Buy at
Virtually Dead (By: Edwin Dasso) (2020)Description / Buy at
Virtually Timeless (By: Casi McLean) (2020)Description / Buy at
Virtually Gone (By: Jacquie Biggar) (2020)Description / Buy at
Virtually Undetectable (2020)Description / Buy at
Virtually Impossible (By: Barbara Ebel) (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Nice Girl Does Noir Books

High Yellow (2007)Description / Buy at
The Murder of Katie Boyle (2009)Description / Buy at
Detour (2010)Description / Buy at
House Rules (2010)Description / Buy at
The Rainforest Messiah (2010)Description / Buy at
Common Scents (2010)Description / Buy at
Nice Girl Does Noir (2010)Description / Buy at
A Berlin Story (2010)Description / Buy at
Your Sweet Man (2010)Description / Buy at
The Jade Elephant (2010)Description / Buy at
The Last Radical (2010)Description / Buy at
The Whole World is Watching (2010)Description / Buy at
A Winter's Tale (2010)Description / Buy at
Dumber Than Dirt (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Set the Night on Fire (2011)Description / Buy at
A Bitter Veil (2012)Description / Buy at
Havana Lost (2013)Description / Buy at
A Bend In the River (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Josef's Angel (2006)Description / Buy at
The Last Page (2011)Description / Buy at
Flight (2012)Description / Buy at
War Secrets (Prequel to A Bitter Veil) (2015)Description / Buy at
Capital Partners (2015)Description / Buy at
The Incidental Spy (2015)Description / Buy at
P.O.W. (2019)Description / Buy at
Letters From Havana (2020)Description / Buy at
No Good Deed (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Collections

A Taste of Noir (2014)Description / Buy at
War, Spies & Bobby Sox (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Show Business is Murder(2004)Description / Buy at
A Woman's Touch(2010)Description / Buy at
Killer Fiction: 11 Short Stories of Killers, Fixers, and P.I.s(2010)Description / Buy at
Tales from the Backlist: Selected Stories from Backlist e-Books Authors(2011)Description / Buy at
Writes of Spring(2012)Description / Buy at
Writing Murder: A Basic Guide to Writing Mystery Fiction(2012)Description / Buy at
Writing Crime Fiction(2012)Description / Buy at
Chicago Blues(2014)Description / Buy at
Shattering Glass(2020)Description / Buy at

If You Like Libby Fischer Hellmann Books, You’ll Love…

An Eye for Murder is the first book in the Ellie Foreman Mysteries series. An old man dies while watching Ellie’s “Celebrate Chicago” television show. When his landlady finds Ellie’s name written on a piece of paper, she calls her to help dispose of his effects. Ellie agrees despite never actually meeting the man. As she helps, she begins to put together his story from the things left in his apartment. With her curiosity piqued, Ellie begins investigating deeper into his life which takes her on a dangerous, winding trail from the political present to the city’s ethnic neighborhoods and steel mills with some Nazi-era intrigue and murder thrown in.

A standalone novel by Fischer Hellman is A Bend in the River. The book tells the story of two young Vietnamese sisters who flee to Saigon after their village is attacked by American forces. They are the only survivors of that massacre and they now struggle to survive. The two become estranged by the choices they make with Mai finding work at G.I. bar which infuriates her sister Tam who goes off to fight with the Viet Cong. The sisters go ten years without seeing each other, questioning if the other is alive and when they finally meet again it may be hard to overcome the wounds of the past.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Libby Fischer Hellmann Books

Leave a Reply