Riley Sager is a pen name of American author Todd Ritter, who writes horror/thriller novels under this pseudonym. He is a New York Times bestselling author. He is a former journalist, editor and graphic designer. Aside from writing, he enjoys reading, cooking, and going to the movies. His favourite movies are Rear Window, Jaws, and Mary Poppins. Riley is from Pennsylvania, and now resides in Princeton, New Jersey.

Riley Sager debuted under this pen name in 2017 with the novel Final Girls. Stephen King called the novel “the first great thriller of 2017.” Below is a list of Riley Sager’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Riley Sager releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Final Girls (2017)Description / Buy at
The Last Time I Lied (2018)Description / Buy at
Lock Every Door (2019)Description / Buy at
Home Before Dark (2020)Description / Buy at
Survive the Night (2021)Description / Buy at
The House Across the Lake (2022)Description / Buy at
The Only One Left (2023)Description / Buy at
Middle of the Night (2024)Description / Buy at

If You Like Riley Sager Books, You’ll Love…

Riley Sager Synopsis: Final Girls is a standalone novel by Riley Sager. Ten years ago, college student Quincy Carpenter went on vacation with five friends and came back alone, the sole survivor of a massacre befitting a slasher flick. Suddenly, she was now a member of a club no one wants to belong to – a group of similar survivors known in the press as the Final Girls: Lisa, who lost nine sorority sisters to a college dropout’s knife; Sam, who went up against the Sack Man during her shift at the Nightlight Inn; and now Quincy, who ran bleeding through the woods to escape Pine Cottage and the man she refers to only as Him. The three girls are all attempting to put their nightmares behind them and, with that, one another. Despite the media’s attempts, they never meet.

Now, Quincy is doing well — maybe even great, thanks to her Xanax prescription. She has a caring long-term boyfriend, Jeff; a popular baking blog; a beautiful apartment; and a therapeutic presence in Coop, the police officer who saved her life all those years ago. Her memory has completely blocked the events of that night; the past is in the past.

That is until Lisa, the first of the Final Girls, is found deceased in her bathtub, wrists slit; and Sam, the second Final Girl, appears on Quincy’s doorstep. Blowing through Quincy’s life like a whirlwind, Sam seems intent on making Quincy relive the past, with increasingly dire consequences, all of which makes Quincy question why Sam is really seeking her out. And when new details about Lisa’s death come to light, Quincy’s life becomes a race against time as she tries to unravel Sam’s truths from her lies, evade the police and hungry reporters, and, most importantly, remember what really transpired at Pine Cottage, before what was started a decade ago is finished.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Riley Sager Books

Leave a Reply