Linda Howard is an American novelist of romantic suspense novels. She was inspired to become an author by reading Margaret Mitchell’s Gone With The Wind. She then spent 21 years writing as a hobby before she submitted a novel to a publisher and became a published author.

Linda Howard’s big break came in 1982 when All That Glitters and An Independent Wife were both published. Below is a list of Linda Howard’s books in order when they were originally released:

Get notified when Linda Howard releases a new book at

Publication Order of Spencer-Nyle Co Books

Sarah's Child (1985)Description / Buy at
Almost Forever (1986)Description / Buy at
Bluebird Winter (1987)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Rescues/Kell Sabin Books

Publication Order of Mackenzie Family Saga Books

Mackenzie's Mountain (1989)Description / Buy at
Mackenzie's Mission (1992)Description / Buy at
Mackenzie's Pleasure (1996)Description / Buy at
Mackenzie's Magic (1996)Description / Buy at
A Game of Chance (2000)Description / Buy at

Chronological Order of Mackenzie Family Saga Books

Mackenzie's Mountain(1989)Description / Buy at
Mackenzie's Mission(1992)Description / Buy at
Mackenzie's Pleasure(1996)Description / Buy at
Mackenzie's Magic(1996)Description / Buy at
A Game of Chance(2000)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of A Lady Of The West Books

A Lady of the West (1990)Description / Buy at
Angel Creek (1991)Description / Buy at
The Touch of Fire (1992)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Patterson-Cannon Family Books

Duncan's Bride (1990)Description / Buy at
Loving Evangeline (1994)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of CIA's Spies/John Medina Books

Kill and Tell (1998)Description / Buy at
All the Queen's Men (1999)Description / Buy at
Kiss Me While I Sleep (2004)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Blair Mallory Books

To Die For (2004)Description / Buy at
Drop Dead Gorgeous (2006)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Vampire Books

Blood Born (2010)Description / Buy at
Warrior Rising (By: Linda Winstead Jones) (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Men from Battle Ridge Books

Publication Order of Raintree Books

(with Beverly Barton, Linda Winstead Jones)

Sanctuary (By: Beverly Barton) (2007)Description / Buy at
Inferno (2007)Description / Buy at
Haunted (By: Linda Winstead Jones) (2007)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of GO-Team Books

Troublemaker (2007)Description / Buy at
The Woman Left Behind (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

All That Glitters (1982)Description / Buy at
An Independent Wife (1982)Description / Buy at
Against the Rules (1983)Description / Buy at
Come Lie with Me (1984)Description / Buy at
Tears of the Renegade (1985)Description / Buy at
The Cutting Edge (1985)Description / Buy at
The Way Home (1991)Description / Buy at
Overload (1993)Description / Buy at
Heart of Fire (1993)Description / Buy at
Dream Man (1994)Description / Buy at
Lake of Dreams (1995)Description / Buy at
After the Night (1995)Description / Buy at
Shades of Twilight (1996)Description / Buy at
Son of the Morning (1997)Description / Buy at
Now You See Her (1998)Description / Buy at
Blue Moon (1999)Description / Buy at
Mr. Perfect (2000)Description / Buy at
Open Season (2001)Description / Buy at
Strangers in the Night (2001)Description / Buy at
Dying To Please (2002)Description / Buy at
Cry No More (2003)Description / Buy at
Killing Time (2005)Description / Buy at
Cover of Night (2006)Description / Buy at
Up Close and Dangerous (2007)Description / Buy at
Death Angel (2008)Description / Buy at
Burn (2008)Description / Buy at
At His Mercy (2008)Description / Buy at
Veil of Night (2010)Description / Buy at
Prey (2011)Description / Buy at
Ice (2011)Description / Buy at
Shadow Woman (2012)Description / Buy at
Frost Line (2016)Description / Buy at
After Sundown (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Mackenzie's Legacy(1989)Description / Buy at
Everlasting Love(1995)Description / Buy at
Christmas Kisses(1996)Description / Buy at
Always and Forever(1997)Description / Buy at
Heart's Desire(1998)Description / Buy at
Under the Boardwalk(1999)Description / Buy at

Note: Blood Born, Frost Line, and After Sundown were co-authored by Linda Jones.

If You Like Linda Howard Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Linda Howard Books

One Response to “Order of Linda Howard Books”

  1. Donna: 11 years ago

    Is Linda going to write any more Blair Mallory books. I have the first 2 and would love to read more about her. Thanks, Donna Farris


Leave a Reply